4:2:1 – Fasting Day

Today was a fasting day.  I actually spent yesterday doing a bit of a cook up.  I went shopping and bought only what I knew I really needed, an array of veggies, some frozen berries, pine nuts and almond milk…  That pretty much makes up most of what I bought.

Fasting day don’t have to be hard, they are what you make of them.  I find it all comes down to timing and meal options, that includes not only the ingredients but the serving sizes too.

Today I took it really easy, no exercise because I sometimes find that makes me feel more hungry and that’s something I couldn’t really jeopardise.  So I started my day with a cup of coffee, remember coffee has no calories, the only additional calories is from milk and sugar.  I use light milk and raw sugar, so it’s not perfect but better than it could be.  I 20131109-041508.jpgdidn’t really eat anything before work, I was prepared for work though.  I made a berry and banana smoothie for afternoon tea:
half a banana
handful of berries
almond milk

Dinner was pre-cooked last night – pumpkin soup and a small piece of turkish bread that I toasted at work.

I am going back to my 1200 calorie days tomorrow, and my next fasting day will be Saturday.  I’m hoping to mix it up a bit so I can share some ideas with you for variety.

I’m starting to find out more and more about the art of fasting, not just for my diet but also exercising…  Not exactly fasting, but short term high intensity.  For instant sprinting for a minute and then resting.  I will post more about this after I’ve finished reading this book I’m into at the moment, and there’s one on this ratio dieting I’m trying at the moment and I would like to read it and share my findings.  It seems to be a bit of a fad at the moment, but there is some awesome evidence to show the positive effects.  It’s meant to be good for increasing fitness, weight loss and heart disease.  I’m just trying to lose a few kilos I gained on my holidays, for the most part I need toning and I think I would need some definite targeted intense exercises for those particular areas.  For the moment I think I’ll try the intense interval training at the gym, yoga at home and my 5:2 diet.

Remembering the importance of small changes for longevity.  It’s about lifestyle.  That’s why fad diets never truly work, but making smaller changes can be quite effective, and assist us to develop new habits.

changesHere are some of my changes that helped me lose 45+kgs:

  • No snacking until I’m certain I feel hungry – eating when you’re hungry is more effective in weight loss than eating on time
  • No eating after 7:30pm – if I haven’t had dinner by then I have a cup of tea and leave it at that
  • Try and eliminate sugary drinks – substitute with sugar free initially if need be
  • Drink lots of water
  • Try chewing gum while cooking/preparing food to avoid snacking
  • No snacks until the third urge
  • Pick a time for dinner and don’t give in early
  • Grocery shopping on a full stomach
  • Use an image of someone with the body you hope to achieve (keep it realistic) and put it on the fridge as a reminder why you don’t need to search for a snack when you’re bored
  • Distractions

We all have the ability to achieve what we want to, it’s just the will power that sets us back.  I believe knowing we have all this time ahead of us doesn’t help, sometimes I think it’s best to pick a deadline rather than a goal of what we want to be.  That means if I want to lose a kg by the end of the week I would have to be consistent, I can’t snack tonight and think I’ll make it up tomorrow because that just wouldn’t happen.  Sometimes the best motivators are deadlines.

If you have weight-loss goals have a look at your efforts, think about what does and doesn’t work and make one change this week, and set a goal for another change next week.  Make sure you fill your meals with the things you need, nutrients…  Then I believe you can’t really go wrong, a third protein (fish, meat or lentils etc), and two-thirds vegetables.  They say we should have 2 serves of fruit and 5 serves of veggies, and I find that if I do my best to get in fruit and veggies, plus fibre and protein that pretty much makes up my diet without much room for anything else.  Remember, if you make sure you get your veggies in at dinner and/or lunch, desert and/or breakfast can be made from fruit, or at least include fruit.  Try making sorbet, a fruit salad, or a smoothie.  Remember colour is the key!

I have a plan for this week – I have plenty of healthy snack options and I have enough main meals (ie dinner) for 7-11 days.  What is your plan this week?  Are you organised enough to make your diet foolproof?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

