Fast Exercise? So Long As I’m Already Fasting!

As I continue with my diet I’ve been doing a bit of reading, and as I searched through the book section at my local Big W store for ideas on what to read next I came across a book called “Fast Exercise”.  It’s written by the same author who wrote a book about the 5:2 intermittent fasting diet that I am currently adapting, so I thought “why not” and I just finished reading it yesterday.

So the premise behind this concept is that you only have to workout for very short periods, but you put in more effort than you would in a usual cardio workout.  Usually we slog it out at the gym or on the pavement at moderate intensity for anything from 30 to 60 mins, however this “fasting” involved a warm up period of a few minutes, then approximately 2 x 20 second stints of exercise at a much harder intensity…  Basically push yourself as hard as you can for 20 seconds, then slow it right down for a few minutes to recover, do it again have a warm down and you’re done.

The book goes into the benefits and research involved, and to put it basically they say this style of exercise where you focus on the recovery and work your body harder for a short period is effective in regulating blood glucose levels, lower risks for heart disease and stroke, can increase your fitness and help you to lose weight.

I recommend reading it if this interests you, I found it very interesting and started with it immediately.  I must admit to begin with though it feels like I’m not doing enough, so I just incorporated it into the middle of my jog, and today I’m planning to attempt the strength training since it’s my fasting day today and I don’t like to get into real heavy exercise because it makes me feel hungry (the book also explains how this works).  So my plan is to try the strength and some yoga today, while I continue with my 4:2:1 diet.  Today is a 2 day, fasting.

So my plan for today is strength exercise, followed by yoga.  While my diet again consists of a smoothie for lunch and fish and steamed veggies for dinner.  I’m currently planning to skip snacking because it’s cold and raining, and I want to fit in some warm drinks, I’ll need the extra calories.  Who said I have to do without!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Ratio 4:2:1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

