Managing the Last Sleep Day After Night Duty – Without Sleep

I’ve just finished my night duty run…  Fair enough it was only 2 nights, but today is all about staying up and staying active.  No tv for a while, so I’m planning to catch up on some housework to keep me going. I like to save the housework when I have night duty coming up, all the jobs I hate to do or dread and often put on the back burner.  Just wear some old daggy clothes and have an “indoor day”.  Today it’s black tights, a singlet and flannelette shirt, warm but functional.  It’s so cold here now in the mornings that I even have the air conditioner on to warm the house a little.

I started my day with a coffee to keep me going and help warm me up.  I have a few things on my to do list today:

  • Laundry
  • Clean fridge
  • Clean out car
  • Clean vacuum filter
  • Vacuum
  • Mop
  • Clean toilets and bathroom

I’ve also got a few things I want to do, rather than need to do.  I want to spend some time outside on the balcony with my crocheting, I don’t know if I could handle a book at this stage.  That’s really my goal for today, I have some soup in the fridge ready to go for dinner, and plenty of dips in the fridge for snacks with carrot sticks and/or crackers. This is how I like to make the most of my last “sleep day” and get the housework done altogether.  Who knows, I might even manage to fit in some exercise when I start to get tired, I always find exercise gets the body going and can help stimulate a release of adrenalin to help keep us going.  Sometimes I like to go to the gym before night duty because in some strange way it actually makes me feel more awake.

I am currently working on a new project too, I’ve got a few crochet ideas in the bank that I want to share when I have a little more direction.  I don’t have much imagination or creativity, but I do enjoy taking an idea from something I’ve seen and adapting it.  We’ll see how this works out, but I still have a bit of work to do on it.

If I get through today tomorrow will be all mine.  I hate wasting my days asleep, as much as it’s nice to sleep in, it’s also nice to harness the sunshine and sit outside with a good book or some craft… Better get to it!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

