New Year’s Resolution: Refocus!

I decided this year was going to be the year of change.  And, I was right.  I have had so much change this year so far.  I have a whole new set of goals now.  I’m now living alone, I am providing for myself (which I was doing anyway), I’m trying to be more healthy and have renewed my financial goals.  It’s time to get serious about my exercise regime.  My diet is a little bit dwindly.  I seem to have no self control at the moment, I don’t know what’s wrong with me.  So it’s time to get motivated, get in and just do it.

goals1_1My strategy is always plan plan plan!  I already have meals planned for this week, and fasting days organised for my intermittent fasting, I always say the secret to any kind of change is to make it small and I think I’ve been biting off more than I can chew lately.  I’ve had a real weakness for biscuits, I just don’t understand why I can’t resist them, the hardest part is that they are always readily available at work.

Anyway, this week I want to make a few choices and stick to them.  My challenge for the week is two things.

  • Stick to my fasting days
  • Exercise 5/7 this week

I now have most of the food out of the pantry that I don’t want tempting me.  Tomorrow is day #1.  Sunday, my first fasting day of the week.  You might think that’s a bit harsh to start with, but after the day I’ve just had and the night I had last night it can’t be closer to the best time to start.  So I’m planning a fasting day, and exercise tomorrow.  There’s nothing on at the gym so I can’t use that to commit.  Instead I have a date with Billy Blanks…  It’s a bootcamp day.  Cardio and ab bootcamp.  I plan to get up early and get my 1.5hrs of exercise, have a light breakfast of rice cakes, cottage cheese and tomato and dinner is meatballs.  I know meatballs doesn’t sound lite, but the way I’ve portioned it, it will be.  There’s around 4-5 small meatballs and a small serving of veggies in a tomato chilli paste.

dream desire wake upI have the rest of my week planned out also, with a combination of cardio and yoga, and I have nothing but healthy prepared meals in the fridge/freezer, and plenty of healthy dips, carrot sticks and crackers for snacks, not to mention fruit and almond milk for smoothies.

What do you do when you know you need to get back on track?  I’m in the middle of reading “the Fast Diet”, which explains the benefits of intermittent fasting, what could be better to help get me motivated?

I figure if I eat well, stick to my fasting days and move a little most days I should feel better by the end of the week.  I just need to stay focused!

changeI have accomplished so much so far this year, why not excel in every goal I had set for myself this year?  We all have an image of where we want to be, lets take it one step further and actively do something daily towards it.

I’m turning 30 early next year, so it’s time to get serious about getting what I want!  Some goals are worth the effort.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

