Intermittent Fasting 5:2 – Progress :)

I know I haven’t posted as much lately as I had been.  I don’t know where the time is going lately.  Between work (although I did work 7 days with only one day off and I’m back now for another 3 – but it’s amazing how much of a difference that one day makes when you really need it), catching up with family and sustaining the house, I’m feeling like I don’t get much done.  Although I did have just this one night in front of the tv with my crochet, what an exciting way to spend my Saturday night.

So I don’t know if anyone is following me for my intermittent fasting journey, but I just thought I would like to share my progress with you.  I’m not perfect and I have good and bad days as we all do, despite out images of other people and how well they seem to be doing, I think those ideas can be false.  We all have struggles, just because we don’t how are younecessarily share them doesn’t mean they don’t exist, and I think there is something to be said for asking “how are you today?”  Just a side note from my post, I am a nurse, and I like to ask my patients this before I do anything too clinical, or while I’m setting up.  It’s something so simple that we overlook, and it means so much more to the person you are asking than it does for you, but it also gives you some insight and gives them a chance to share.

If you didn’t already know, I’m doing the 5:2 intermittent fasting diet again.  Last time I went with 4:2:1 (4 days of eating normally, 2 days of fasting {500 calories} and a cheat day of whatever you’d like), but I’m finding it’s not really necessary to have the cheat day, I’m finding I don’t need it.  So this time I’m trying to do it properly, don’t get me wrong I had results last time, I lost about 3 kilos in 3-4 weeks I think it was, but then it all fell off the rails as I got out of routine I guess you could say.  So this time I went out and bought the book “The Fast Diet”, this explains the benefits of it, the best ways to go about it, what you’re aiming to do and even has some meal suggestions for fasting days.

I guess I was a little disillusioned last time, I thought the goal was just 500 calories for the fasting days, but since reading the book I’ve discovered the main goal for that day is to abstain from calories at all for an extended period of time, the longer the better.  And, it doesn’t have to be midnight until midnight, your fasting day can begin after dinner one night and finish after dinner the next night for example.  So this time I’ve decided to try and stick with that, yesterday was probably about my 4th fast day but it may well probably be the first time I’d done it correctly…  Well mostly correctly.

According to the book you should abstain from activating hte pancreas, this means no sugar for an extended period, let it rest, let your tummy, liver etc rest.  I started the night before, about 7:30pm, made sure I had dinner about 7pm (I try not to eat after then anyways), then I had nothing until yesterday morning I got up for my coffee.  I figure if you really need your coffee and that’s the only thing you get out of the day as long as it fits into your calorie restriction see how the results pan out, and if the shoe fits wear it.  So I had my morning coffee, normally when I’m on an afternoon shift I would actually have about 3 coffees before work plus brunch.  The book suggests you have either one meal or two depending on how you can cope, either a light meal earlier in the day and supper about 7pm.  I didn’t eat anything early on, I just had my afternoon tea coffee at work like I normally would and held out for dinner.  My dinner was just a homemade pumpkin soup (thermomix recipe; merely vegetables, spices and water) plus some steamed veggies.

I hear you asking “what about the hunger pangs?”  I was hungry, I really struggled in the morning, this was the hardest time for me.  I was reading the book while I was trying to hungerfast, and I think that was a mistake because while I’m reading about food, and I’m starving so I’m thinking about food.  So I thought about something I read in the book, the best time to exercise is actually while fasting because it causes your body to use up stored resources, rather than something you’ve just taken in to burn off first.  So I did my ab bootcamp dvd.  Not too hard, not too strenuous and not too long (I say it’s not too hard or strenuous, but I have done it many times and I actually find I’m pushed harder when I do cardio at the gym.  So I did that, it helped me warm up since it’s been quite cold here lately, it was a great distraction and eventually the hunger pangs either fit into the background or they subside.  But, the whole point of doing it is to make the body feel deprived so if we give in and have something to eat, it takes away all the benefit of getting that far.  I actually think in the early stages it would be incredibly hard to do this on a day at home, but a day that you’re already busy but not going out for a meal.  I was distracted when I got to work in the afternoon, a few times I felt that I was hungry, but it helped to have something to focus on.  And, the funny thing I find that is after all that struggle and it’s time to have dinner I don’t actually want to eat much, it didn’t take much to make me feel full.

believe in yourselfAt the end of my shift, which was technically also the end of my fast, I was around 2kgs lighter than when I started this diet.  I’m also finding I’m more controlled around food, my appetite is less this morning, and I can manage the hunger pains rather than reaching for food as soon as I feel it.  I really think this way of dieting where you can actually have the treats you would normally try to avoid is sustainable, because it changes the way you feel around food and it helps regulate your metabolism I think.  For me anyway.  I was really struggling lately, trying to eat right but constantly being tempted by cream biscuits in the cupboard, and it was really getting quite hard to the point sometimes I was exercising out of guilt.  But, now I’m feeling a little hungry but I can wait and I’m actually liking not feeling full, just content meaning I’m eating smaller portions, so it is making a difference.  Of course it’s great to see the results on the scales too.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

