Which Maintain Are We Really Climbing?

I think it’s important to enjoy life for what it is.  I think we all get so caught up in all the wrong things.  Consumerism, materialism and keeping up with those around us.  Whatever happened to just being happy for them?  Where did the green eyed monster come from?

I know from my grandparents and my parents day the big importance was on family and the great Australian dream of owning your own house.  Whatever happened to that?  Now we have this generation of YOLO (you only live once), according to an article I read recently apparently young adults these days would rather rent their accommodation so they can afford to travel.  I can see the appeal of this, don’t get me wrong.  But I think we’ve forgotten how to look into the future and have become selfish.  Whatever happened to planning for our future?

My dream is to afford a “home” of my own, it doesn’t have to be the grandest house I’ve ever seen, or the biggest.  It just needs to be comfortable, and suit what I need.  Which isn’t that complex, all I need is a kitchen, somewhere to sleep, sew and read.  Lets face it houses used to be so small those things may have all been in the same room.  Here I am in a small townhouse, with two bedrooms, more living space than I need, a small balcony and a courtyard, I’m content with what I have here.  It’s not mine, but that’s ok.  Owning a house is a privilege we must earn.  I have what I need, friends, family and a roof over my head, a job to pay for it and to feed myself.  So why have we forgotten about the little things?

Fair enough back when I was a baby and my parents were buying their own house times were quite different.  The interest rates were higher, they got paid less, and traditionally many mothers would stay at home to look after their children and raise them.  This is what it was like in our house, Mum looked after us while Dad worked 6 days a week to pay off the mortgage.  But, I believe although we may look at them as having very little in a material way, we had everything we needed.  We had a roof over our heads, furniture, we were feed and clothed, we had love from our families, we had friends but most of all we really appreciated our experiences.  My fondest memories aren’t of anything money could have ever bought me, pretty much throughout my whole life (I guess you could disagree when it comes to holidays as they cost money), but they are of going for a walk with Mum, or experiences with my brother and friends as kids, or things that happened in our own backyard.

climb_the_mountainWhen you look at what you have it’s not about a physical sense, the physical stuff just gets in our way.  I think we’ve forgotten about what truly matters, the relationships we have with people, and being aware of the little stuff that happens everyday, the little innocent things children do or say, or the wise words accidentally spoken to us by the elderly.  I think it’s important to open our eyes and our ears and listen to the here and now, appreciate the time we have now, because if we keep looking to the future and wishing our time away we will come to realise we should have made the most of what we had over the years.  Let’s face it the most quality life experiences come when we least expect it and when we feel like we’re just waiting for something better to come along.  Enjoy the ride, it’s about the climb not the destination!

I’m not suggesting we throw out our belongings, although sometimes I wonder if our physical clutter has an emotional impact, but I think we need to look at what we have rather than what we don’t have and just have a think about what is truly important to us.  If you have small children and you spend everyday working to pay of a house that’s really too big for what you really need, is it worth what you miss out on at home?  The little things you miss at home, by the time you pay off the house or have the time to be home those moments will already have been lost.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which Maintain Are We Really Climbing?

  1. An intriguing discussion is worth comment.
    There’s no doubt that that you ought to write more about this subject
    matter, it might not be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t talk about such
    issues. To the next! Kind regards!!

    • Thank you for your support. I have been doing a little thinking about this lately. I put so much time in at work, I get paid for my overtime but it just doesn’t truly seem worth it sometimes. And of course I’m missing out on the important things, quality time with people who mean a lot to me, things I would like to do and just general life maintenance…

      I think people are torn though, there are families who want to have a roof over their heads for their families, but there are also those appreciate the quality of family and not missing out on those special moments that money can’t buy and that you only ever get once chance at.

      Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

