Can’t See The Trees For The Forest

There is a lot of good in the world, we just have to stop and open our eyes to see it.  I think we spend so much time looking at the negatives and the big things these days to truly notice the beauty that is there right in front of us.  

As a nurse I see all sorts of things, and I have all sorts of experiences with people.  We get people coming through who are at all sorts of stages of their lives.  The young, the old, the sick, the broken, troubled, misunderstood, under-appreciated, and the ones that are just exhausted and run down…  And, to each of those people, I (along with my colleagues) am the new support, a temporary back bone to do the things they can’t do until they are well enough or able enough to get back to their lives.  This is the part we all forget while we complain about getting a pan every 30mins, or fetching a tissue box, or redirecting a call, but to them it might be something as simple as letting someone else do it for a short while.  

I know I am guilty of complaining in the middle of the night that I had to pass a tissue, or get 12 pans for a patient in one night, clean up bodily fluids or be run off my feet for hours on end because I received several post-op patients in quick succession.  And, sure there are times when we can be more organised, when we know there are patients heading in from theatre and we can get equipment ready and be prepared, but in the end these aren’t the experiences we remember, that leave a lasting impact.  What truly leaves a lasting impact are the quality moments we get during one on one care, the personal interactions, the one part of the job that keeps us coming back even after what feels like the worst shift we’re ever going to have (and usually we can always top it).

Among these challenging times we occasionally get the opportunity to stop and sit with someone and have a meaningful conversation, allow the patient to talk about what’s on their minds, and sometimes it might not even be about the reason they are in hospital.  I had a conversation with a palliative patient just recently about how she was feeling in her current situation, it’s amazing to see how well adjusted people become at the end.  She had accepted everything, she knew it was nearly time and to some degree when she talked about it I could see a sense of relief in her eyes, as I sat there and talked to her about it I realised there’s an aspect to this job we don’t get to fulfill very often and that’s the personal aspect, the time to just sit and talk about how they feel and maybe even explain what they should expect, and answer questions.  Or simply just be a distraction.  

I love my job, I remember the first prac I went to and I remember thinking I couldn’t believe people got paid to do this job, it just seemed so much more rewarding than it was given credit for.  However now I am working, I do appreciate that I get paid for it, sometimes it is stressful, and sometimes it’s emotionally and physically draining, but at the same time there is a kind of balance to it all.  As we are running around the ward, skipping lunch, putting up new fluids, setting up an automatic blood pressure monitor to automatically take measures, racing through medication rounds and frantically trying to get through paperwork before the end of the shift, or even staying back 30mins to finalise everything, there are 8-10 people in beds counting on us.  

It has recently been brought to my attention that there is an intricate balance to nursing, while we complain and whinge about the workload, we also have some really lovely and beautiful, rewarding moments.  The way I see it nurse/patient relationships are give and take, when we’re giving the patient is taking, and when they are well again they give us so much more in return.  We are merely doing our job, as I so often tell my patients, but it is so rewarding to hear their appreciation, and that they noticed the little things we go out of our way to do, or even things we didn’t realise we were doing.  Mostly I guess we get a selfish reward to see how our actions helped their recovery.  Although there are times when our actions aren’t as effective, and no matter what we do we can’t get the result we want, and in those circumstances our next best action is simply to make them comfortable.  

At the end of the day it’s the person touches we take.  This isn’t just relative to nursing, but I think this is something we can all work on, recognising and appreciating the little things, I think we get too caught up with looking forward to what’s coming next and we forget to enjoy the moment, until one day we’ll stop and wonder where all the time went.  We’re all so busy I think we’ve forgotten about what’s important.  

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can’t See The Trees For The Forest

  1. Mentality is critical, a negative one puts a person at odd with the only one that can change there course. I blame television (kill your tv) which is filled division because it thrives on controversy.

    At the end of the day though a nurse see a person going through pain and people tend to feel that the pain last forever when it is just a transition. Your positive outlook will provide the light at the end of the tunnel.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    • 🙂 Thank you for the comment.
      I agree about remaining positive, I guess when you think about your worst experience, you do move past it eventually, and then when you see someone in a similar situation you can remember what it was like, and you can empathise with the person but you can no longer feel exactly what it was like. I guess it’s good to keep in mind that will happen for the person too, but remember how hard it was to get there.

      I don’t actually don’t really watch tv, I have no aerial connected to receive a signal, so I either watch what I have on dvd, (there’s one program I watch online) or I do something else. I hop on the computer, read or do some sewing when I’m home. I think it’s best to choose what we watch rather than have things thrown at us… Plus I don’t like to watch too much tv…

      • I mean the tv as a whole, people in general watch the worst in everyone and the fantasies. Then project that to the world around when it may not be the case.

        The news is filled with war, angry conversations, and division. The most popular shows are about murder, infidelity, lusciviousness, and general idiots. Then people act out what they saw.

        You are a shining example of proper thought and action.

        Regards,
        Clifford Mitchem
        Advocare Distributor
        Nutrition + Fitness = Health
        http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

  2. Oh, sorry. Yeah I understand that. I agree there’s too much negativity in the world, and there are too many people out there who take it too far. I try and avoid the news, I don’t seek it out, but I do end up hearing the big stuff at work or from my friends and family, and it is as you say all negative especially lately. I don’t get caught up in the politics, I try not to complain about our leader, because at the end of the day we have to believe he will do what he believes is in our best interests. Plus there’s nothing we can do about it for those who feel very strongly, all we can do is accept it and move on. We don’t have to agree, and there’s no one who will make all the decisions that we can all agree on, you can’t please everyone, but you do what you believe is necessary at the time. Like saving money in your own situation, you have to make some sacrifices and some your family might not love you for, but you do what you believe has to be done.

    Instead I like to do what I can do, and although that might not be much, I am in a caring role at work and I guess I am a pretty nurturing person. I teared up at work last night with a patient who just lost her husband, I think if we spent more time caring about other people, and reaching out for them when they are in need instead of looking out for ourselves all the time, the world would be a much nicer and safer place. I think we’ve all lost our perspective on where our priorities are.

Leave a Reply

