I Have Lost My Routine!

How do you sustain some kind of “normalcy” when you have no routine?  I’m struggling a lot at the moment because my shifts at work are changing so much.  I work a combination of shifts each week…  Most of the time it’s as you would expect, a couple of afternoons then a couple of mornings, but my manager breaks up my night duties so I feel like I’m always transitioning from night sleeping to day time sleeping and that’s what’s making it the hardest. 

I’m struggling with only the most basic of things.  Having meals prepared, getting to sleep in the evenings, then I get into such a deep sleep and I feel dopey when I wake up.  I’ve exhausted all my frozen meals options, I haven’t even had a chance to go shopping this week, I have almost no milk left, there’s nothing to cook other than some left over frozen options in the freezer (party pies and sausage rolls).  Don’t even get me started on my exercise habits lately, the gym has been out, but I have done around 30mins of yoga/day, so I guess that’s something.  I’m working today until 8:30 tonight and it looks like I’ll be picking up a salad on my way, if I want coffee I think I’ll be taking this option for that too.  

Thank goodness I’m on days off tomorrow for three days so I can get back into some kind of normal routine and do some meal preparation for the week ahead.  I’ve put on a few kilos too because I’ve spent the week eating whatever I could get my hands on, so today I’m treating the day as a “fast” day.  I just feel bloated and yucky, I can’t tell which days are which!  I’m even forgetting to drink water until I had a headache, I had a horrible headache a few days ago and when I thought about it, other than in coffee I hadn’t had a drink of just water for 3 days.  

At the moment I am doing well if I get up before 9am on my days off, I have a cup of coffee, do some yoga, have a shower and have a cup of coffee on my way to work (either bought or in a travel mug), then at work I will have 2-3 cups of coffee, I come home and have a cup of tea before bed.  

So today I’ve decided enough is enough.  I feel yucky, I have no energy and I’m exhausted.  I’ve been eating toast at work and at home for the last few days because I had frozen bread and no time for cooking or shopping.  Today is my last shift of the week…  YAY!  

I’m making a smoothie with almond milk (long life milk) and some frozen berries from the freezer.  For dinner like I said I’ll pick up a salad on the way to work…  Tomorrow I’ll have a chance to get back to “normal”, shopping and some meal preparation.  Make a soup and something for leftovers in the fridge for this week.  

Let’s see how the plan goes.  Time to get ready for work again soon.  After a 15hr shift yesterday I feel like yesterday never even happened.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

