Positivity – Making Our Own Choices to Fuel Our Happiness and Wellbeing

I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately on positive psychology, and what I’ve learned is that we all have a choice, and it’s not a quick fix for moments of mourning or depression but it’s the little things.

For instance we have the choice to reflect on our day, but where do we place our focus?  I have started something new this week, at the end of every day I pick three things that I found had a positive effect on me.  They don’t have to be major things, they just have to stand out to me as positives, it could be as simple as an interaction with someone at a shop, or an instance with my partner.  It just has to have had a positive effect on my mood, and the effects I gain from reflecting on it are only to my benefit.

I highly recommend this to anyone who is having a hard time, and even to those who aren’t.  I find it’s a great way to change our focus, I find it makes me forget about the negativity and highlights the potential for the future.

In a world where you’re surrounded by so much negativity it’s nice to focus on our blessings, especially when we have so many wonderful opportunities and experiences.  Every time you turn on the tv what do you see on the news?  Negative stories, it’s mostly bad news, normally what are the things you bring home from work?  For me it has been the thoughts of things I didn’t get to do, negative interactions with other staff, and wondering what I could have done to be more productive and help those coming onto the next shift.  Don’t even get me started on the anxiety leading me to getting to work…

What this new focus has given me is a change in perspective, I’m looking for the positives, and as I started to do this I began to realise how easy it was and how difficult it then was to just pick three.  It lead me to wonder about where else I could utilise this concept.  I know it’s an older idea but it made me wonder about surrounding ourselves with experiences that make us feel good, or things and people who have a positive effect on us…  Whether that means someone who motivates us to exercise, eat better, or just leaves us feeling positive.  What is wrong with being proactive about your own happiness?  After all if we identify an issue who is going to come and fix it for us?  No one, there are just some things we have to do for ourselves.

We are all in control no matter how much we feel like we aren’t.  If we’ve lost control of our routine who do we have to blame?  What is the reason?  If it was something we used to do and it’s not getting done now, what’s missing?  We are!  We need to be aware of ourselves and just be who we want to be, do what makes you feel happy…  You’ll know when something isn’t right because you won’t feel good about it.

In a world where teenagers of today are blaming everyone around them for their predicament, who is ultimately the only one who can make a change?  If you hate your job you don’t have to do it these days, you retrain and follow your dreams.  So many people these days hate their jobs and only see it as a means to survival, but if you take a step back and see the impact that your job has on others I think it’s easier to see that our work is meaningful, and gives us a sense of belonging.

While I’m counting my blessings, and my positive experiences I’m looking forward, to new possibilities and realising I’m the one who creates my own happiness.  If you’re feeling flat, what can you do today to turn that around?  What positives have the potential to affect you today?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Positivity – Making Our Own Choices to Fuel Our Happiness and Wellbeing

  1. Viji Maha says:

    Happiness is definitely a choice!

  2. I agree.
    I think we need to realise what makes us happy and choose that. Unfortunately it’s not always that easy, but sometimes we can re-arrange our state of mind… Other times it’s not so easy… But hey, that’s life 😉

Leave a Reply

