What is Life?

I try to live a simple life.  I try to live relatively basically, not as a minimalist but I do see the benefits of such a lifestyle, however what I like to do is just implement the KISS lifestyle.

So I live in a small house with my partner, that’s great…  Only minimal maintenance, financially cheaper than it could be, and we’re close to most of the things we need access to (I just won’t go into the neighbours because that’s a whole other kettle of fish).  I go to work to a job that’s stressful but rewarding, I have awesome friends, and I’ve decided to do a post graduate certificate.  I’m not starting to feel like my cup is getting to it’s capacity.

How many of us live like this?  Yes I’m busy, but I’m content with what I have, my values are realistic and organic(?).

What are we really striving for in life?  Experiences…

I have been reading a lot of posts from “becoming minimalist” who I found on facebook.  I find the postings good, and although I could never live out of a suitcase, I’m far too grounded for that, I like the idea of simplifying life as much as possible and living for what you love.

Living to work is not something I value, here is my idea of life…  And, as I sit back an look on it, I imagine I have nothing in the world to complain about, my contentment with things is reassuring, but it doesn’t mean I don’t have goals.

My idea of life:
Job that I like, that makes my feel fulfilled, and where I feel appreciated and where I can leave at the end of the day with some sense of accomplishment and meaning
Home; simple and happy.  I clean and tidy house, someone special to spend my time with, and a place I want to come “home” to.
Friends and family; I like to spend quality time with my friends and family, and one day would like to have a family of my own.
Time; I don’t want to have no time for the things I enjoy, like sewing, music, shopping, hanging out with people who are important to me, and going out for brunch!

Sure that all might seem straight forward, and very common, but look at it this way.  I don’t want to work until I can’t work anymore, I want quality over quantity.  I don’t need a big house full of expensive furniture and cluttered with belongings.  All I need is an ideal house that doesn’t feel cramped and crowded, I would rather have quality items I have picked out that might have an individual story, and someone to share it with.  I want a work/life balance that means I can spend quality time with the people who are important to me, and I want to share it all with someone special who appreciates the same qualities in life.

We now live in a world where we compete with each other, and purchase something just because someone else has it, or we need to have something better than our neighbour.  But, why do we have to measure our own existence by the standard of the person standing next to us, we are all unique and our lives are unique.  I think it’s time we all stopped and thought about what’s more important, time with your family or more money to buy things for them instead?  I believe this is why children are growing up consumeristic and lacking the values that were instilled in us as kids.  I remember my whole family sitting at the dining table together for dinner, we talked about what was going on with us and my brother and I spent some quality time together doing the dishes (although we probably didn’t realise it at the time).

I live a practical existence not a minimalist one.  I have things for convenience, but I don’t often get things I don’t need.  I have an average car, relatively small house, and enough clothes to get me by.  However, I have ample sewing supplies, more books than I can read and a closet tupperware addiction (which extends to kitchen items in general but I’m brand oriented in that department purely for reputation of the product).

So what is life?  It’s what you make of it.  You can spend you life searching for something, or appreciate the little things you would have otherwise missed out on.  Like the atmosphere of dusk and dawn, going for a walk at the beach, playing backyard cricket with your kids and sharing your day around a home cooked meal.  I guess you could say I’m a traditionalist, and I have no defence.  I want to create the experience I got from my Mum growing up, quality time that we’ll never get back if we miss out on it now.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

