The Measure of Wealth

What do you do when you seemingly have the things, or some of the things you want?

I may have mentioned this, but I follow a page on Facebook called becoming minimalist, not because I am or desire to be minimalist, but because it’s grounding.  It reminds me of who I want to be, someone free from materialism and who values the right things, I guess an ethical individual.  Of course I’m not always, I sometimes find myself wanting things I don’t need, or comparing myself to others and wishing I had more but I remind myself “what then”?

We never finish growing, or we’d be grown.  We never stop yearning, or seeking greener grass, and we can never be satisfied until the end, if even then.  So when you have achieved certain goals, big personal goals and you don’t dream of being of material means where to next?

Some dream of buying and paying off a house, of having the perfect job, moving up the corporate ladder, family aspirations or travel.  But, where do we go next?  I wonder, for me, firstly if I think too much, and secondly if our sites are set too far away.  What about if instead of looking forward we’re more mindful of now? What if we enjoyed the moment rather than wishing it away?

I had a patient at work, who I’ll admit was confused, but she asked me something, “why am I 91?”  It made me think about how we measure life experience, and how different everyone’s measurement is.  Ultimately, it’s merely that, a measurement by which we meter our lives by, but what does it really indicate?  Time?  What is time?  What does it matter where our experiences were?  Years ago people lived much shorter years, but instances proved them to be more influential or symbolic than most of us will ever be.  But some may argue, is that the true measurement of our worth? 

We all judge our accomplishments based on values, and in the end we know who we are.  So long as we have made a difference along the way, acts of kindness, putting others needs before our own, and spending time experiencing things of importance for ourselves should be our measurement.  At the end that’s all we have left as our legacy, or to take with us wherever we are going.  We can’t take material possessions, only memories and the feelings of achievement and contentment.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

