Work. Home. Study. – where is the play?

A few things are changing for me at the moment, I’m about to start a new job, my partner and I are looking for somewhere to live (hopefully closer to work), plus I have to work full time and find a moment to get some study in.  And here I am asking where all the time goes.

We all have such busy lifestyles these days, either with work and the running around, or study or even managing families.  I don’t have any kids, and I wonder what kind of anarchy I would be organising if I did.  I’ve just had 4 days off and I don’t even know where they went.  I didn’t get to catch up with anyone, all we did was look at houses and try to catch up on the housework.

Where did all the balance go?Featured image

I start night duty tonight, so it means I have the day free which should be used to try and get some sleep in.  Instead I have shopping to do, Tupperware catalogues to drop off and houses to see, yet I was still wondering where I was going to get my workout in at the gym.  My partner cooks dinner when I’m working nights, but yet again my day seems to be taken from underneath me.

Where did all the balance go?  When do we play?

In order to get some balance back into our lives, and because we felt like we never really spent a great deal of time together, we created a rule while I’m studying.  No uni after dinner, and there must be one free day from responsibilities, for play.  It works really well, it means I can only study before afternoon shifts, for 2 hours after a morning shift or on my days off.  We also get the house work done after the last shift of my work week, laundry is another story but it’s not as time consuming.

It’s ok to complain about things, but at some point you have to do something proactive for the better.  We have such different schedules it’s hard to keep up with each other too.  But, I find if we don’t plan ahead we don’t fall behind.

meal planningI like to plan our week before my work week begins.  I make a meal plan which really only involves dinners as lunches are mostly at work for me and uni for my partner.  I make sure the house is still clean before I start my first shift of the week and I do the grocery shopping before starting work too.  It means there’s food in the house, no need for take out, I try and make one meal that creates leftovers so we have a quick option when we’re both too tired, plan study sessions for uni and theoretical trips to the gym.

Granted life doesn’t always go according to plan and there is no routine in our house because I’m on a rotating roster, but that’s why we develop the skills to improvise.  If I can’t make it to the gym I try and do some yoga at home, if the house work falls behind we work together to get on top of it, and if uni is behind we forfeit a night where I don’t do it after dinner, but the strict rule is that this isn’t a normal routine.

Most importantly is to get outside and enjoy the sunshine, take one day of rest a week, this is why we keep one day for no errands, no housework and no uni commitments.  It might be as simple as fishing and a picnic, then coming home to a roast for dinner and movie night.  But, even that is down time.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Getting Organised and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

