Back to Basics

I’m always posting about plans to get organised and somehow don’t really seem to get there.  I guess you could say getting your stuff in a pile is much like starting a diet.  You can talk about it all you like, and you can plan ahead but it’s more about the actions than the good intensions or the words.

So although I hate to do these things on my days off (usually I like to do prep work like shopping and cooking on my last day of work), I’ve made a decision to get started today, after all tomorrow never comes right!

When we got up this morning we had a chat about some meal options this week, I made a shopping list and off I went.  I bought most of our miscellaneous groceries, then I checked out our local fruit and vegetable store and discovered they deliver fruit and veg boxes, something I’ve been talking about doing for such a long time but never really committed to.  I had a chat to them about it, they take into consideration how you cook and your family dynamics to decide what types of food they include.  For us I like to have lots of pre-prepared meals for reheating at work for me, and uni for my partner, so all-in meals and meat and vegetable type meals.  So to prepare for the week ahead I’ve ordered the veggie box and a meat pack, and I’ve baked a pecan pie for dessert.

I had an interesting discussion with the staff at both the fruit and veg store and the butcher about the kinds of food we’re now buying at the supermarket, meat that isn’t actually classified as meat and food with so many additives it’s no wonder people are intolerant to it.  When I was a kid we ate meat and veggies for dinner most nights, and any all-in meals where made of meat and veggies anyway.  There was no pasta or rice in our diet, only on occasion, we ate bread but it was strictly lunch only.  This is all part of the reason I go to so much effort to source my groceries, I try to get fresh fruit and veggies and limit the amount of pre-packaged foods, when it comes to pastry I try to make my own if time permits keeping in mind I work full time so it’s not always convenient.

When we have access to delivered fruit and vegetables and good quality meat, why would we over spend at the supermarket on foods that have little nutrition?  In a world where so many people are unhealthy, we need to eat better and move more.

So I’ve decided even though my routine is coming together, I would like to build on it next week and utilise my thermomix.  Time to get some of those all-in recipes going and making some staples from scratch again like I used to do, vegetable concentrate lasts me 3 months when I make it, and I would like to have a go at making my own butter (I even bought a butter bell, something they used to use to keep butter cool before refrigeration), that way it might be spreadable.  I see all this information in the media about what happens to our food, butter that’s bleached to look that colour, so I think why not just make my own?

My partner thinks I’m old fashioned, but I think there’s something to going back to basics.  When I first moved out of home I wanted to cook fancy dishes we never had at home, mostly involving pasta or pre-packaged sauces, but if you cook for nutrition reasons the most healthy meals are very basic…  They don’t require much cooking and you don’t remove the nutrition from them during the cooking process.  And it’s easy to have “fast food” at home if you create leftovers, it’s just as easy to freeze as it is to go through the drive through at the golden arches.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

