Micro-chromosome Deletion More Prevalent than We Realise?

So I have a micro-chromosome deletion syndrome.  Everywhere you turn there are people with more genetic disorders, but what does it mean for us?  For me I don’t have any symptoms what so ever, but some children these days are struggling with debilitating effects.  I guess it’s a case of how human nature isn’t perfect and everything is subject to error.

So what is a micro-chromosome deletion?  I’ll start with the basics, everyone has 46 chromosomes ordinarily, excluding genetic abnormalities.  You get 23 from your mother and 23 from your rather, they match up to make your pairs.  When this micro-deletion occurs it means part of one of those pairs is missing, depending on where it’s missing depends on the individual effects.

I have six segments missing, which doesn’t sound good, but it’s off the one part that these segments are missing, other than being a little blonde at times and sometimes processing things a little slower I show no other signs that there’s anything unusual.  My brother and father all have the same, and my nephew who is 8 years old also has this abnormality with a larger deletion, but he was also born unconscious with his umbilical cord around his throat, so it’s hard to differentiate where his signs and symptoms originate.

There are so many children being identified with learning, social and emotional abnormalities where is this all coming from?  And, was this always there, just that we didn’t really investigate or didn’t have the technology to investigate prior?   Even now there’s very minimal information around this syndrome, yet I recall reading that it is possible 1/10 people have it, and potentially don’t even know it.  Keeping in mind these signs and symptoms could present as autistic/autistic spectrum indicators.  Makes me wonder what we truly know about this seemingly increasing incidence, or again, is it just that we have the capacity to investigate this further now than we ever used to?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

