Small Changes Short Duration

In order to make any kind of drastic changes in your life you have to start small.  Chip away at it and take it one subtle step at a time so as not to make it too hard.

My goals currently are to get some control back, feel good (not a size 6 image, just not to feel bloated and uncomfortable which I have been for the last few days), I want to get back to where I used to be probably about a year ago.  I was organised, I was happy with how I was feeling and just healthier.

So I’m setting myself a few goals:

General:
Exercise daily
Drink more water
Eat real food – until content not until full
Avoid sugar (especially at work)
Spend less time at the computer

Simple!

I’ve already made a few changes, we’re meal planing again, and I’ve had a chat to my partner so we’re both on the same page.  I figure this can’t be bad for both of us to try and it will help keep me on track if I have his support.  I think it’s good to tell someone about your plans to help keep you accountable if only for the guilt to stay on track.  We’ve started having coconut sugar in our hot drinks, I already avoid sugar as a general rule, but lately I’ve been more relaxed and it’s not helping me.  I started a new job and there’s always cake laying around, so my plan is to keep from eating any of it.

I’m planning on cutting out meat from my diet for a few days, just focus on vegetables and fruit and nothing packaged (excluding this mornings blow out, but there’s only so much you can do to remain polite under social obligations).

Tonight is steamed veggies for dinner, plus water and coffee to drink.  I’ve achieved over half an hour of exercise today, now I just have to sustain it.

Rinse and repeat…

Little changes, and small trial periods.  If you promise yourself you will eat like this forever it feels like a prison sentence.  The biggest motivator will be how I will feel after this, and plan ahead so you don’t fridge surf out of boredom…  If I find myself fridge surfing it’s time for some yoga or baking…

I am hoping to get back onto a 5:2 or 4:2:1 diet plan like I used to do.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

