The Wake Up Call I Needed To Get Back On Track!

I went out to dinner and drinks with my partner, my brother and some of his mates.  I didn’t have a great deal to drink, and I’ve certainly drank more in the past and come off with nothing more than a headache.  So, I don’t know if it was the alcohol or the prawns in my salad that did it, but I became best friends with the porcelain that night, and the next day.

I couldn’t eat anything, I couldn’t keep any fluids down, I tried flavoured ice blocks, electrolyte replacements…  Nothing worked.  So my partner took me to the after hours doctors service where I had an injection to stop the vomiting, which worked but left me with dizziness and a killer headache.  I slept on and off all day for the last two days, and solidly over night, waking now and then to reposition my sore head.  Today (day 3) I woke up with a mild headache which is almost gone, and just dizziness, still trying to get my blood pressure up over 90/60.  The hospital wouldn’t give me fluids, and left me to go home and let it take it’s course.

I am feeling better, like I said with just some dizziness now, but assuming it wasn’t the alcohol, it’s made me think about how I put food and drinks into my body without a second thought.  We just trust the preparer has our safety in mind, but I’m grateful my body has a regurgitation instinct.

A little over a year ago I barely went out for food, I used my thermomix every day and cooked everything from scratch (where I could).  This has made me stop and look at what we’ve been eating lately, out more than we used to, as my partner keeps reminding me I don’t cook as much as I used to, and I’m not as adventurous.  I guess since we moved, and the leading up to the move, even before that I went through a down moment where I was lucky to do much around the house at all.  I’d lost all my motivation, I stopped cooking, had trouble keeping up with simple things like the laundry and general housekeeping.  I’ve picked most of that back up now, but I still struggle with meal times.  With my schedule, and my partner being home while I’m working I have to cook in advance, so I need to get back into some recipe books and take the thermomix on another adventure.

I’m about to start a new yoga class starting this week, and since having this horrible experience with what I imagine could only have been the food I ate, the alcohol seems uncharacteristic for me.  I’m eating basically, I had 2 hard boiled eggs for breakfast and steamed veggies tonight for dinner, my partner and I are planning a fishing trip/picnic tomorrow, and we have a traditional home cooked meal on the day I have home, usually a roast, meatloaf, shepherds pie or an all in something.

We had a chat this morning and I think my biggest issue (since I’ve put on 6kgs since I met him) is we have differing metabolisms and I can’t keep up.  I can only eat twice a day, and I can’t maintain my weight eating the same diet, I need smaller portions and I need to avoid things like pasta, rice and pastry.  So we decided that I would try and cook better, and on nights when he wants something I can’t really metabolise effectively I’ll have something I’ve pre-prepared and frozen like pumpkin soup, or steam some veggies…  That’s always my back up plan.

Now that we have the meat pack and fruit and veggie box system in place it’s meant there’s always something healthy to eat in the house.  Just requires some preparation.

So my goals are just to do what feels good this week, yoga and healthy eating.  No rubbish!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

