Progress IS Motivation!

Just a bit of an update…

Since I was sick a week ago, I decided to use it to my advantage and treat it as a fresh start of sorts.  After I up-ended my internal contents over a 24hour period, and then slept for 48hrs I decided to take advantage.  It was almost like a detox forced upon me.  So I made a few more goals or rules for myself (I like to call them rules because I’m more likely to stick to them that way).

Monday: Initially I figured it was for my own benefit to ween myself back into food and I couldn’t really tolerate much anyways, so I had steamed veggies and did some light yoga.  I took that day easy and felt remarkably better the following day, I was just a little dry – obviously still dehydrated so I kept my fluids up and continued.

Tuesday: I had promised my partner we would go on a fishing/picnic day, so I packed a picnic, for me it was a salad, for him it was chicken, avocado and cheese wraps.  Obviously my metabolism slowed somewhat after eating nothing for almost 48hrs, I was so full I couldn’t eat dinner when I got home, so instead I cooked up a big dish my partner could use for left overs this week while I’m at work.

Wednesday: I had a more productive day, obviously feeling much better.  I went off to my first yoga class in a studio, the class is set in a hot environment 36 degrees, which on a cool rainy morning felt nice when I first walked in, but it ended up in a very challenging sweaty yoga session.  It was obviously  good because I’m still a little sore now.  After this yoga class I went out with a friend for lunch, and again found myself too full for dinner so my partner had leftovers.

Thursday: Pretty much getting back to normal by this point, still with the low appetite though but not feeling light-headed anymore my partner and I hit the gym.  I weighed myself and I’d lost 4kgs throughout these last few days, after the gym my appetite was back, I had a salad for lunch and steamed veggies for dinner, still keeping it light.  It wasn’t taking much to make me full though.

Friday: I went to the gym and took a salad to work for dinner.

Saturday: Repeat of Friday

Today I’m having a rest day, before my double shift tomorrow between two jobs and back to yoga on Tuesday.

Looking back over the week I feel like I’ve been really organised – and this alone is enough to keep me motivated, however I always have the same dilemma with meal planning, finding something interesting for my partner to eat for dinner.  I’m easy I’ll have salad or steamed veggies every night, and mix the veggies around but he wants something substantial and I run out of ideas, so I search the thermomix recipe community, the cookbooks and pinterest looking for ideas.

Keep planning forward, with trial and error to help redefine the rules.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

