What Is Your Yoga

I find my yoga practice really motivating.

I guess we need to find something we’re good at, or something we can develop, we all need progress.  I’ve been told before that I have some control issues, and when you feel like you have no control, you need to find your own.  I like to have my house nice and organised, I like to have my meals planned, have my shopping done, kitchen stocked, workouts organised and housework scheduled (having said that – scheduling doesn’t mean I do it all, my partner helps me but I like to structure things to keep some free time for both of us, to have some down time and for me to get to yoga and the gym).

With my work schedule our house isn’t all that organised.  We have last minute dinners to try and navigate, we do last minute shopping and laundry like everyone, and I can handle that.  But I found yoga is what I need to keep as a constant.  Yoga helps me relax, get centred, and I feel calm and collected afterwards.  Breathing techniques and mindfulness help me be “in the moment”, it might sound odd but when you’re always doing something and rushing about there’s a great deal of pleasure and just being.

I need to remember to not just take time out for me, but to make sure I quiet my mind, the poses help my flexibility and strength.  I think it’s important for us to all take a step back into a safe and quiet space, take a moment for ourselves, to be calm, quiet and centred – get back to our base, to who we really are before our environment influences us.

I wonder if yoga has been westernised, it’s slowly becoming a trend these days.  I don’t know if that’s because of the new crazes in the exercise world these days, or because of an image we’ve seen that we want to be associated with.  Yoga is a holistic approach, holistic health and wellbeing.  It’s about eating well, practicing the poses (which not only work on our flexibility and strength but have other health benefits), and breathing.

In mental health treatment one of the strategies used is mindfulness, being in the current moment and letting everything else fall away, focus on breathing, on an image, a change of focus.  That’s what we all need these days, a chance to slow down and enjoy a moment, that’s what I found yoga offers me.  It’s not like any other kind of exercise, I go to the gym and I put some tunes on my ipod and tune out the world, while I take some time while I run, walk, or cycle but this inflicts stress as I push myself harder.  While I find it helps clear my head, I also need to space to relax my mind and body.

Yoga is something different for everyone, and it’s not for everyone, but you just have to find something you can progress in.  Something that’s for you, that makes you want to move forward, that motivates you.  You don’t need to master everything, just find something you enjoy and take some time out for that.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is Your Yoga

  1. Nikki Veliz says:

    My yoga practice definitely changes from year to month to day…I’ve gone from such a strong practice to now lying on the floor in constructive rest pose listening to yoga nidra. And even some days that’s too much so on days like today I do my 3 soft silky sighs as my meditation 🙂

    • Sometimes that’s just what we need. I could really have done with a yoga class today, but it’s so hot and they really only do heated classes where I go so I’m waiting for a cool change in the weather to do something at home while I have the house to myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

