Progress is Your Encouragement

I’m not sure if I’ve written on this before, but it was something I was thinking about at work last week.

As I have mentioned before I had some issues with my weight, I gained 50kgs after I moved out of home after high school, then I finally realised I had to do something about it so I lost 40kgs and I’ve worked hard to maintain and lose the rest.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t just do it like that.  It took over 2 years, and it was two steps forward one step back a lot of the way, but I can be stubborn and persistent when I really want something.  I often get really impressed responses from it, after all I guess the weight-loss market is so big these days, something I never really noticed until I gained weight.  I don’t know if that’s because it wasn’t there then, or it wasn’t marketed to me.

I was talking with a colleague at work on Saturday who told me before she saw the photos she thought I was “one of those people who could eat anything they wanted and never put on weight”.  She went on to explain about how she found me inspiring, to see how much I had gained and how much I had then lost again.  I guess when you think about losing 40kgs it is a very daunting, but you can’t look at it like that.  Progress is your encouragement.  You have to take it easy, one step at a time.

believe in yourself

I started by realising I needed to make some changes to my lifestyle, I started with a bootcamp 30min dvd, which is now available on youtube (Billy Blanks Ab Bootcamp).  I cut out as much sugar as I could, that meant no sugary soft drink, no cordial (neither of which I really drink anyways), no sugary desserts or treats and try not to eat packaged foods.  I cooked my own food, and changed the size of my portions, and dropped 10kgs in a month.  I later discovered this was probably due to my size, as the weight loss continued my weight loss dwindled and it got harder.

The biggest motivator is a deadline!  That’s what I always say about study, but when it comes to weight loss, your progress will keep you going.  As your journey progresses and you see the results you want to continue.  These days I go to the gym (when I remember), and love my hot yoga classes and I’m about to commence an aerial yoga class starting tomorrow night.  Coming from someone who could barely but their shoes on without all a lot of effort, now I’m working on arm balances, and I can bend over with straight legs and put my palms under my feet.  Yoga is so good for your strength, flexibility and mental health, it helps me sleep better and helps relieve headaches (not cure, but I do get some relief from meditation).  But the main thing you have to do is change your attitudes around food.  Food is something we need for fuel, as easy as it is to eat a bag of chips, or lollies, is it really worth your health?

start-working-out-today

My blood sugar levels were rising, I was pre-diabetic, making the bed was making me breathless, and now I can jog consistently 30+ minutes.  It just takes time, small steps, got for that first run, it doesn’t matter how long it takes to finish so long as you tried and things will eventually get easier with practice.  Just have to remember not to give up when it gets hard, the progress is your reward for all your hard work.

I love the endorphins and the feeling I get in my muscles when I’ve been to the gym or finished yoga, and when I feel stiff and sore the next day I feel I’ve put in a good effort.  I know you don’t need a no pain no gain policy, but for me I figure if my muscles are sore the next day then they must have been worked, and that’s what I need if I want them to develop.

The main thing to remember is that even when you get to where you want to be, that’s not the end.  I will always want more, a new goal and something to achieve.  I’m looking forward to starting aerial yoga tomorrow and seeing what I’m capable of in a hammock.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

