The Therapy of Girlfriends (the BFF kind)

I’m not 12 years old, and I don’t ever call anyone my BFF and I don’t think I ever have!  But, I think I have the most lovely “best” friends there is!

As you may have collected from my musings, I love the tv show Sex and the City!  I guess
what I really love the most about the show is not the talk about relationships, but more about THEIR relationships as “girlfriends”.  Something I always felt I was missing out on.  Since finishing school I lost touch with most of my friends, I discovered I had grown more emotionally, or gained more maturity.  I wasn’t interested in getting drunk every weekend, or at all, I didn’t go out every weekend I preferred a night at home or to go out for dinner.  Either way we grew apart I feel.  But, now I have new friends, most of them older than me, and probably one from school who I’ve been friends with since I was 13.  I guess what I always wanted was friends to call up and talk to when I needed to share something, either good, bad or ugly.  Friends to catch up with over coffee or brunch, and friends who I can hang out with under any circumstances, who know me better than I know myself, who have my back as much as I have theirs.

SATC2

SATC Movie 2

 

For such a long time I felt alone, I had not long started nursing, a new job, and I had moved for it.  I was far away from my friends, and I lived 45mins away, with  alternate rosters to my friends and barely had time to catch up with them.  Although it did make me realise my oldest friend and I didn’t need to talk all the time to sustain anything, even after 12months of not seeing her we were still good, like we hadn’t missed a beat.  And now even after changing jobs again (still nursing but a new hospital), I have the same friends, friends I can have a night in with, friends I can have coffee with and friends to have brunch with.

After my ever emotional post last night while I was laying in bed at a friends’ house having a wedding meltdown, stressing about having bought the wrong dress, and stressing about how I was going to pull it all together, I had a wonderful morning with my friends.  Not all of them, and if I could get them all in one place that would be amazing, not sure how they’d all get along but still.  I was thinking about the three of us that went out this morning, there’s me down to earth and gullible, and there’s them.  One who’s blunt and honest and one who’s crazy outlandish.  But I love them!  We sound like an odd trio but we complement each other totally.  There’s nothing that’s off limits, and we’re always there at the end of the day.

I know for anyone who knows the SATC crew, it sounds almost like the character combination.  But today I was thinking about how I have what I thought I was missing.

So after the meltdown I had last night, wondering about all the details I didn’t have under wraps yet, my friends cam along and fixed it all for me, reminded me that they have my back.  Initially they had told me the dress wasn’t what I’d said I wanted, which is true, and after I put it on a few times I’d realised they were right, and it wasn’t practical for the reception I organised which is in a house.  No room for a train, unable to sit comfortably, and ultimately I want to feel comfortable.  I’m not a girly girl, I don’t do big frills and I wanted to make the day friendssomething that represents me.  So they took me out to a dress shop, they made me look at dresses I hated on the rack, made me try several on that I would normally not even look twice at.  The very first dress I tried on that I thought was too plain turned out to be the one I chose.  In the end it’s probably something I could wear again, it’s pale pink and strapless, simple and elegant, not a big puffy marshmallow.  It was great to know they know me, they were there even though I didn’t take them with me like I should have the first time.  I loved the dress they helped me choose, and they both found something to wear too.

 

I guess what I mostly mean is that I realised I have what I’ve been wishing for, I may have moved 45mins away, but we still communicate and we can still hang out.  They still have my back, one of them just got back from an overseas holiday, bought supplies for our wedding while she was over there, and ordering more stuff for me on her first day home.  I must say I’m very lucky.

There’s something to be said for a day out with the girls, after whatever day, or week you’ve had, whatever is going on in your life.  The therapy of being with people who know you as well as you know them can change the outlook of your whole day!

Oh, and fingers crossed for selling the old dress!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

