Writing Wedding Vows

I still have 4 months until my wedding, and I have mentioned previously there’s still so much to do.  One of which is writing our vows.  My partner isn’t that keen on writing his own, he says he doesn’t really know what to write, and I’m told there are certain things we are required to say by law.

This is something I thought would just be easy, but when there is the added pressure of sharing them in front of all the people you now, I guess that’s when it gets a little daunting.  Our celebrant contacted my by email and sent me some links to ideas online, but I don’t know if that has really helped me.  To me they all look the same, there’s no real substance to them, they are just so generic.

While I was sitting at the computer trying to think of something, of an idea of how I was going to write it I started looking for readings for the ceremony too.  We decided we wanted to have a few readings, which I think is pretty common still.  We decided we’d like a bible verse reading, and although I’ll keep looking I think I found something we both like.  We didn’t want something that’s been said over and over again, no mushy verses about love, we’ve picked something that talks about 2 people supporting each other which I think is much nicer.

Tonight I was sitting up at the computer thinking about the readings, we had a chat today and thought a poem might be nice.  My partner suggested I write something, but I don’t know if I could do that, I don’t like to hear my work read back to me for some reason, so I think it would make me too uncomfortable.  While I was searching for poems on the internet I thought about the sex and the city movie, (how cliched for me), and I thought about the scene where Carrie is sitting in bed reading the old book from the library about famous love letters.  So I bought a book on kindle tonight and I’ve had a look, picked 2 or 3 to run past my partner tomorrow and see what he thinks about having famous love letters read instead of a poem.  We both love non-fiction and books, especially second hand books, and I was thinking about how awesome it would be if I could find myself a second hand copy somewhere to use on the day.  Although it’s not a totally original idea, I thought it would be something that isn’t done all the time.  I don’t like to follow everyone else’s path, and I thought it would be nice to put our own personal touch on the ceremony.  It might sound corny, but I was thinking using the poem she read at the wedding in the tv series would be worse.  And this way we can pick letters that are appropriate to us, and there are so many out there.

Now to get back to the vow writing.  How do you say something unique, that doesn’t sound like it came of a production line, that means something to you, that isn’t cheesy?  I feel like no matter what I write about love it is always judged as cheesy or already done.  How do we express ourselves, how do we be us without being them?  Like the desperate words of the historic love letters, we want something authentic and classic, not plastic.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Wedding Vows

  1. scrappyyoga says:

    I have to write vows in 4 months as well and going through the exact same thing. I find that bringing in personal experiences help take out the “cheesy”. And remember it’s about you and you fiance… No one else 🙂

    • Thanks. I have to remember that I think. I like tradition but not cliche, if that makes sense. I want us to create something unique, that represents us.

      Hope you’re having more luck with yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

