Is Technology Affecting Us More Than We Realise?

I’ve been reading a book about neuroplasticity, “The Brain that Changes Itself”.  It talks about a lot of different things, involving how the brain re-organises itself – therefore being plastic, but what I was reading an appendix tonight that talks about how we have evolved with technology.

The book talks about how the screen refresh rates is improved and sped up so much over time, that we are constantly re-orientating to figure out where we’re up to, making us tired and impatient.  Our brains have adapted to technology to quickly because for years we have been face down into it.  If you think about how much exposure you’ve had with technology even in the last 15 years.

I’m now 31 and I got my first mobile phone when I was 16, we had video game consoles before that, since I was 5 years old.  We keep updating as the technology improves, and each time our brains are adapting to keep up with it.  Now here we are with a smart phone on us all the time, using tablets and computer at work, it’s no wonder screens have become such a big part of our lives.  We can’t function without having some kind of contact with the outside world, we need access to make phone calls, send texts and keep everyone updated on facebook.  We are now a generation who take a photo and upload it to facebook before we consider about avoiding danger…

The book also outlines some research that indicates this time spent in front of tv’s and smart phones/computers/tablets is contributing to the short attention spans of children.  Parents use these devices to entertain their children out of convenience, and as a result they no longer have to find a way to entertain themselves when there’s no stimulus entertaining them.  Parents restrict their children’s tv time and technology time at home, but I think part of the problem is also when the are out in public, in social circumstances that are meant to show them what they should be doing, and this has been taken off them…

It’s not just children, I think I spend too much time looking at a screen.  I try to maintain the rule of no technology at the table, I use my kindle to read at night, but it doesn’t have the same refresh rate or speed as a tablet and doesn’t have anything moving to stimulate my mind, just the content of what I’m reading.  I have had a chat to my partner about keeping our honeymoon for us, no facebook posts beyond letting everyone know we’ve arrived, I want us to take our photos on a camera rather than our phones because photos have become so disposable these days.  We plan to make a post when we get home and make a photo album out of the photos, but people take so many photos and leave them on old phones never to be found again once the phone is updated.  People go on holidays these day and post every day what they’ve been up to, then when they get home there’s no point talking to friends and family because they saw it all.  It’s the same with life in general, what do we talk about to people that we haven’t shared on facebook?  Consequently I have made an effort not to post anything important on facebook and keep some things for us, and for close friends and family.

It’s time to take a step back from social media and technology and enjoy life a bit.  Go outside into nature, enjoy the warm sun, go to the beach without taking a photo of it, and 20 selfies…  Throw away your selfie stick!  Spend time with friends face to face, not in comments to a photo of a cat, ditch the tunes during your workout…  Spend sometime on your own, in your own headspace.  It’s good for you!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

