What’s So Great About Thermomix? Only What You Put Into It!

What can you do with a Thermomix?  This is the first question I get asked when I mention I have one, or that I am getting a second one.  Most people think they would just get over the novelty and not using it, I must admit I have momentary lapses where I don’t use mine as much, but mostly because I worry we eat the same things a lot and I can’t think of anything new.  But, that’s where the recipe community comes in handy, that and new cookbooks, also Thermomix cooking classes inspire me to try new things.

So what can the Thermomix do?  Well that information is all on the website; mix, mill, emulsify, cook, steam, knead, whip…  But that’s not what you should think about when purchasing one.  What can it do for your household?  For us it saves up money on things we wouldn’t normally make, it makes healthier food, we rarely ever eat take away because there’s so many things we can set and forget.

What’s important for your family?  For us it’s ease, multi-tasking, healthier food, and meal planning.  I make butter, bread and pizza dough, layer meals (sauce in the jug, meals in the top, cook chicken in the steamer and soup in the bottom), desserts, snacks, muesli, and my partner even makes bait for fishing.  I like the ease of set and forget meals, I set soup and have a shower, when I come out it just needs mixing and serving.

What it can do for you is only limited to your imagination and effort.  I use it 3-4 times a day when I’m home, and I would use it around 5 days a week.  It wasn’t always like that, when you first get one you have to think about ways you can use it.  For instance you can use it to boil things instead of using a pot you have to watch, you can whip, turn sugar into icing sugar instead of buying it.  You can use it to replace steamers, mixers, whisks, and scales.  And, food isn’t the only thing you can make in it, like I mentioned my partner made fish bait in it, and he converted the recipe himself without my help, but you can also make cleaning and beauty products.  I’ve also made play dough and finger paint for kids.  You still need an oven, but it can become a kitchen workhorse saving you money and space.

I’m not selling them, I just wanted to share a little about what we do with ours.  It’s also great for people who have to avoid gluten and grain intolerances.  You know exactly what’s in your food, you don’t have to watch it cook and you can make several things at one time.  When I get my second one I will be able to make dinner and butter at the same time, or two dinners.  My hope is that I get the slow cooker out too and cook 3 all in dinners at once and all the cooking will be done for the week.  The best part is that it can wash itself.  There is so much you can do with it, I don’t think anyone really has the time to use it to it’s true capacity.  Something I’m hoping to remain motivated to do.  I really want to start trying some new things.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Meal Planning, thermomix and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

