You Can Achieve Anything You Put Your Mind To

I had another pole class tonight and amongst my struggles with new poses, my declaration that “I can’t” to my instructor, she pointed out that I could it’s my head that holds me back.  This got me to thinking, what else do we think we can’t do that we have the strength and will power to do?

I got to thinking about all the things people I know think they can’t do.  They think they can’t go to a yoga class, definitely think they can’t go to a pole class due to flexibility and strength inadequacies.  But, where do we suppose we get those skills?  We aren’t born with them, we have to develop them, like learning to read, spell, pass an exam.  We have the capacity to do whatever we want, yet why do we limit ourselves?

Now I’ve had a think about it, all the most common issues we feel that we suffer from are things that we can achieve.

  • Lose weight
  • Eat better
  • Exercise
  • Save money
  • Increase our strength
  • Increase flexibility
  • Learn a skill

what-motivates-youBut what’s holding us back?  Those thoughts we have that convince ourselves that we aren’t capable.  If we spent as much time working towards these things as we did complaining about them, we would be halfway there.  What we really need is motivation.  What what motivates you?

I have struggled like everyone else, I gained 50kgs after school, I had a poor diet (I still do a lot of the time), I have a lot of debt, and I would like to be stronger and have more flexibility for myself.  I came to realise there is no way I can turn any of these things around by doing nothing, well not in any healthy way that is.  So one day I started to make a difference in my own life.  I decided to make some changes, and it wasn’t always easy, and I didn’t always sustain my level of dedication, no matter how stubborn I can be.  I started to make some changes to my diet, and over time I lost 45kgs.  That is not the end of the story, I struggle daily with it because now I have to sustain it, and I have discovered losing it was the easy part.  So I have had to be more vigilant with other aspects of my life, I have to meal plan in order to be organised and prevent quick fixes, and I have to do some exercise.  Just there I have touched on a few other issues, we save money by meal planning, and I am improving my strength, fitness and flexibility with the types of exercise I choose to involve myself in.

We are getting closer to that time of the year…  What were your resolutions for this year?  Did you achieve them?  What do you want to achieve next year, and what changes will you start to make now to help the development.

Balance-is-the-key-to-life1I’ve been thinking tonight about how dedicated I used to be, and how I’ve lost it and lost some motivation.  I need to get back to sticking by my plans.  Time to get back to my old rules, planning my week ahead and sticking to it.  Changes don’t occur without an investment.  I have grown stronger and more flexible this year between yoga and pole, we eat reasonably, and we’re starting to move forward with our financial goals.  That ticks most of the boxes, but we can improve.  I think I have high expectation of myself, and I get disappointed when I don’t meet the goals I set for myself, which confirms who I am truly doing this for.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

