Sleep Hygiene

Why is it I am always my most motivated and active mentally when I get home from work after 11pm?

I get all my inspiration late at night, so here I sit with my laptop, my cat and a glass of wine trying to wind down before I go to bed, because that’s the one place I can’t seem to master.  I feel like my day goes in reverse lately, and I’m not sure if it’s a nurse thing, or if it’s a me thing.  I wake up lethargic, get to work and finally find my second wind and then come home buzzing instead of being ready for bed.  I wonder if that’s because I spend the shift at work rushing around trying to beat the clock, or is it because I just can’t wind down?

I have been listening to a meditation app on my phone the last few nights to try and help me get to sleep, in some kind of a restful way.  While I am sleeping I find I am stressing, tensing my head and waking up with tension headaches that are hard to shake.  Therefore I am trying to find new ways to relieve that, be it yoga, mediation or relaxation before bed.  However I am wondering if it has anything to do with stress levels at work that I am unable to just switch off, and the new later hours we will be working starting from tomorrow are concerning me.

I have found from some searching on uncle google that things that can work involve the relaxing I have been working on, however exercise can also work, which resonates with me given that I find it so easy to nap after a workout.  However finishing work at 11:30pm might make it hard, although the gym is open 24/7 I don’t know how I feel about going to a place like that so late at night.  Which reminds me some exercises can actually stimulate you too, I recall a yoga teacher mentioning that back bends can stimulate the nervous system and prevent people from getting to sleep if they are prone to issues with sleeping.

So this week I have a plan to clean up my bed hygiene, create a routine that tells my body “it’s bed time”.  We already have a kind of routine, where we have some downtime in the lounge room, have a cup of tea and read a book in bed for 10mins, but I am still left with a lot of tension in my head while I am trying to get to sleep.  So this week I want to try the meditation right before sleep and see if that makes any difference.  They say that electronic devices in your face can mask the perception that it’s time for sleep, due to the lighting they use, this made me wonder if putting them all down for the last few hours of the evening could really help me.  And would playing a little bit of piano before bed help relax me, or would it tire me or stimulate my mind too much?  Another idea for sleep routine trials.

What works for you?  We all have out little routines, even if we think we have none.  We create one for children, one made from routine and the creation of a certain type of atmosphere.  When I used to work as a nanny, and when I babysit for family I always use low lighting, something I’ve always loved as an adult in the evening, and then reading which has always been relaxing to me, but the reading content needs to be for leisure not for study or work.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

