The Space You Have Created for Yourself

“Notice the space you have created for yourself”.  This is something I hear at yoga regularly, but today I got to thinking about it realistically…  Yoga is the space I have created for myself.  Sometimes we just need to create a little space, either physically, socially or emotionally.

When it comes to yoga, what is actually meant is the flexibility we gain from poses, from feeling stiff to feeling the new “space” the instructor refers to when we lengthen, and the space created simply from breath.  However I have come to think of yoga as my time, a time to be mindful, relaxed, a space and time just for me.  Although I do practice yoga at home I find a get more benefit from going to the studio.  I have created a mindset in the studio, I leave everything at the door.  No thoughts about every day issues, no thinking about work, study or home.  I take this time just for me, to notice how I feel, how I’m moving and to soften myself after the tension I experience at home and work.  I figure even if I have trouble making my mind quiet I can focus on the strength, effort and exertion taken just to maintain the pose.  If nothing else I have had a break from the stress, and released it in a more productive way.

After the class I feel relaxed, calm and clear.  I can’t get this feeling from anything else I have ever tried.  I wonder if it has something to do with the art of mindfulness, something I mostly only practice at home when I have a migraine or when I’m trying to get to sleep.  This is something I really need to create more time for at home, I need to get back to a daily practice like I used to do, I feel as though I have lost a lot of my flexibility and I really love the feeling I get after a good yoga session.  Although yoga gives me the best benefit, the other thing I like to do is go for a run in the fresh cool air, like around the beach.  I find exercise is a great time to clear my headspace, I like to push myself to my limits, forcing myself not to be able to think about anything else that’s been clouding my thoughts.  Going to the gym, to yoga, or pole, it’s all about movement and creating some space for yourself.

There are so many different ways we can create space, this week we re-arranged our living room and the sunroom off our bedroom, right at the moment I was getting frustrated with living in a tiny house.  I now feel so much better that we have created some more space, we’re feeling more comfortable at home, with comfort and room to live, while I’m re-discovering my own potential and stretching my legs inside and out.

Look after your mental health, find what works for you and work the magic, it might be the most simple thing from having a night to yourself, reading a book or going for a walk.  But, if it makes all the difference you can’t afford to live without it.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Health/Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

