Christmas Isn’t about the Bells and Whistles

All around me there are people asking if I have all my Christmas shopping done, and asking what my plans are for the holidays.  The thing is I’m a nurse, there are no “holidays”, what you do is request time off at your particular chosen time of the year, and if you’re lucky you can work only 4hrs on Christmas Day, well that’s mostly the case.  I work in the private system now so it’s a little different, we shut down somewhat over Christmas so we do get offered time off, so this year I have decided to request time off so that I can plan things while I’m off.  But, what concerns me the most are all the people out there spending so much money on Christmas presents, some of them are spending money they don’t even have.  How can we be doing this?

My husband and I were talking the other night about Christmas and what we think Christmas is truly about, I tend to think we’ve lost sight of what Christmas is meant to be about.  To us Christmas is all about family and togetherness, although we have bought each other gifts, I guess to some degree it’s an excuse to get some things we would never selfishly go out and buy ourselves.  I like buying gifts and getting someone something I know they will really like.  The problem is I get impatient.  We have both given each other our gifts and plan to just get some stocking fillers, cheap items to unwrap on Christmas morning (because I don’t think it would be Christmas without them), and things the other person again would probably not buy under normal circumstances but something they really want or something they need.  For example I will be getting him some fishing gear to go with the spear gun he got as the main Christmas present.  But we don’t make Christmas about the gifts, although they are nice too, but we try to see our families and this year we want to make our own traditions.  This will be our first Christmas together as a married couple, so we want to create something that’s ours, but something that we can still share with family.

So we are trying to decide what kind of a tradition we want to create, maybe too much effort is going into this, but I love Christmas because my family always had a kind of routine.  We would open presents, travel to visit the rest of our family or they would come to visit us, we would have a great big lunch, we had lots of finger food and snacks, hung out and went to the beach at the end of the day.  That’s what we did!  My husband tells me Christmas is for kids and he says he finds it cute that at 31 I still get excited about Christmas.  On the first of December I put the tree up and decorate the house, as December progresses there are more and more presents under our tree, our stockings on the mantle begin to fill up and we put our lights on in the evening.  As Christmas gets closer I like to start making/baking treats, slices etc, and I wear my Christmas scrubs to work.  I guess to us as kids Christmas was this magical time of the year, and no matter what was happening at the time, we just got together as a family and shared memories.  I guess what I want to do is to translate some of that to my husband, who may not have had that some experience, but I can share that with him and create a little piece of my heritage in our home, combining a traditional dessert with a twist and his favourite dish.

At the end of the day I guess all we truly need is nice company, nice food and memories!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

