Are We Missing the Journey?

I’ve just come back from a weekend away with my husband to visit his family.  But, why are short trips so exhausting?

I was really looking forward to 4 days off work, we left after my last shift for the 4hr trek.  We spent one full day there yesterday, doing nothing busy or exciting, just visiting and he went fishing while I went for a bit of a swim at the beach, then today we headed home.  We spent the morning at the beach, where regrettably I got a little burnt, we had lunch with his family and then we did the 4hr drive home.  I still have 2 days off, but I’m exhausted, I slept in the car on the way home and I feel like I’ll need the next 2 days to recover before I go back to work Thursday afternoon.

I’m totally buggered.  However, I’ve unpacked, tidied the house and I’m all ready for a laundry run tomorrow.  Why is it that something we all look forward to so well, actually causes us so much more work?  I think sometimes the things we really want are worth all the effort, that’s why it’s not easy to achieve the big things.  We need to appreciate the break and experience the contrast, otherwise we won’t appreciate the good things we experience, but we should also enjoy the journey.  It has come to my attention recently how we always look forward to the next part of our lives, and therefore we are missing it.  And, I think I have been constantly complaining about my circumstances, and my husband mentioned to me just yesterday that life will never truly be as we imagine it, and that I should try and relax a little and enjoy it as it comes.

sunI have been trying to do this, I have been trying to slow down, appreciate moments for what they are, enjoy the quiet times and try not to fill them with smart phone time or some other kind of defence from just being.  In my aim to achieve a place where I can appreciate moments, and be in the moment at hand, appreciating smells, feelings and thoughts of the time, I also aim to achieve a state of meditation that I have started to help slow my mind at night.  I have a lot of trouble with sleep, I have bad dreams, I have stressed dreams and while we were away I had a tension headache for 24hrs that I couldn’t get away from last night and prevented me from sleeping.  Part of trying to deal with this for me is stressed-workerto start relaxing more, developing a new routine and taking time out for me and for my head.  I find that exercise helps, and the meditation really helps me with calming my head enough to get me to sleep.  But, I have been finding value in music again, I have been listening to the words and started writing my own as a way of expressing my own feelings, fears and frustrations and I find it really beneficial as a way to deal with it I guess and get it out of my system without burdening others with it.

Sometimes I think we have to take a step back from the situation at hand, put it into perspective and find our own strategies.  Writing it down or talking about it can be a physical way of acknowledging things, but I also think in a world full of technology we are losing ourselves.  We need to stop hiding behind it whenever we are vulnerable waiting in a line, for our meal at a restaurant or waiting for a friend, and just enjoy the moment, be aware of what’s going on, what does the day and the environment sound like, smell like and feel like?  What are the memories we are creating?

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

