Is Social Media Making Us Judgemental?

Why do we feel the need to hide?

I have recently been placed in circumstances where my life on social media obviously seems better, I have had to knock some people back for plans because due to Christmas and my car registration being due soon we can’t afford to go out and spend money on things we don’t need right now.  In the meantime I feel like everything I do is under scrutiny.  Prior to Christmas I hadn’t planned something with a friend who ended up offended I organised my spare room, however that didn’t cost me anything and I feel like they could have contacted me, or come to visit me.  Currently I feel as though I need to keep a low profile, not appear to be having too much fun.

Why do we look at other people’s profiles and their lives with envy?  We assume they are having such a great time, even though they only really share things when they are happy, let’s face it…  We want to share our happiness with those we are friends with and those we are related to.  So why do they find the negative in it?

social-mediaWe all have ups and downs, some might live in big houses, seemingly have everything they want but are they really happy?  Do they have stress, fears or worries?  Are the things they are seeking really making them happy?  Or do they really know what they want?  Things don’t make us happy, but they can make things easier.  And, just because someone has the things we want it doesn’t mean they are happy.  We don’t usually share our sadness and we don’t want people to pity us, so we present an image of what we want people to think of us, unfortunately it appears better than it is.

Why do we always think the grass is greener on the other side?  Why are we so focused on other people’s happiness that we are missing our own?  Happiness doesn’t need to be expensive, in a big house or expensive activities, it can be as simple as reading a book in the sun and one person’s happiness requires no judgement…  It is what it is!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

