If We All Practised Yoga the World Would be a Better Place

The year is passing to quickly already…  I’m having trouble at work writing the correct date, and when I manage to get the right day I seem to mess up the month.  It feels like Christmas was just last week, which raises the question how are we doing with the years plans given that’s a twelfth of the year already gone.

New year’s resolutions are always so selfishly prioritised, revolving around self improvement, and goals to acquire things we want.  But, what about who we are and how we affect others?

I always say the world would be a much better place if we all practiced yoga, but why is that?  Clearing your mind and challenging your body while practicing  controlled breathing techniques, if you do no other exercise this will help develop strength, control and allow you to calm your mind.  It’s so good for mental and physical health, yoga can improve so many different areas and problems within your body, it’s something I discovered that I really want to share, so that others can feel the same benefits.

So what were my new years resolutions?  I had a mixture; I want to be calmer, more patient and relaxed.  This is something I can achieve not only by practising yoga but also by not over filling my time.  Bringing me to my next goal, a selfish one – taking out more time for me.  This links back to yoga, the studio is such a great place for me, I have mentioned before how it’s the only place (maybe other than the beach), where I can leave everything outside and focus only on what I am experiencing at that current time.  No worrying, no thinking and just enjoying and focusing on the present.  Something I think is important in a place where time seems to go so quickly and everyone wishes away their time, to move onto the next phase of their life, only to find they have missed so much.  What’s wrong with experiencing our own thoughts and feelings, learning from them or enjoying them?  I also have materialistic goals of paying off debt and saving for a house, and these goals leave room for us to be more present, to enjoy the little things, the moments we seem to look beyond.  These goals leave us working a lot, but by working a lot it means we appreciate our time together all the more – contrast allows us to learn the art of appreciation.  If we never had bad experiences we wouldn’t know when we were having positive ones.

The material goals are the easiest to achieve, but the emotional, mental and physical ones are harder.  We can start to develop ourselves rather than what we have by being still every now and then, being present and enjoying the moment and the people in our lives for what and who they are.

If we all practised yoga the world would be a better place!  For the first time in 2.5 years I’ve had this plant, it has three flowers, previously I have barely noticed it flowering and almost missed the small time it has before wilting.  This year I have enjoyed the bright purple flowers, the plant my husband bought and gave to me for our second date, I feel the importance of taking the time to stop and smell the flowers.  I’m not sure if that’s a sign of age, or awareness.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

