My Happiness Project

Ok, so this is the book I’m reading at the moment. It attacks the concept of feeling happier even if you aren’t unhappy. Something I am always searching for, although I am relatively content with things, there is always room for improvement. I want to enjoy my time, time is the one thing that severely limits us and I feel I am missing out on experiencing my own experiences. Like I am living this life, but at the same time I am missing it. So being the proactive person I am I decided to do something about it.

I’m reading the book and creating a plan for myself this year, I have started with the same aaeaaqaaaaaaaakxaaaajdrkytczm2q3lwewzjktndi3yi05nge4lwiznjqwy2ixndc1zqideas but I am adapting them to suit my inadequacies. I am making goal topics to conquer each month, realising that I am a little late to start this month, I have decided to make it about the house. Something I have been chipping away at this year, we have decluttered, reorganised and my plan thus far involves keeping it organised with meal plans/preps, sustaining housework and keeping it tidy. One thing that really helped me in my holidays was tidying up forst thing in the morning and last thing before settling for the evening.

This month is about creating space, physically and psychologically. I feel less stressed when I have order in my environment, if nowhere else. I want to plan my meals so we are eating healthier and to make prep for work easier. Staying on top of the laundry which is one of my biggest struggles, keeping the house tidy and sticking to my exercise routine.

downloadCreating space:

  • Declutter
  • Tidy and organise
  • Don’t leave until tomorrow what can be done today
  • Plan ahead (for me this is meal related, I need to do the shopping and plan for meals ahead of time)
  • Keep a diary to live by
  • Plan exercise realistically
  • 5 minute tidy before bed – this appeals to me psychologically by getting up to a tidy house I feel clearer with less distractions and I don’t feel like I’m starting my day be going backwards and cleaning up the mess from yesterday…  Keep the past in the past
  • Go to bed at a reasonable hour, maintain bed hygiene and a good routine
  • Schedule some down time

If I can get the basics at home under control I can move onto other things. So far next month will be about relationships. According to the book, research suggests the very act of being nicer to someone triggers them to do the same in response. Something I have noticed in my husband, no reason I can’t start that now, but that will be my next point of focus.

The most important part is to discover where your happiness lies, and work at achieving that. Often our happiness rests on the happiness of someone else, which funnily enough is what may hold up their happiness. It seems to have such a positive effect that ripples into so many other parts of our lives, and so many people in our lives. You can’t change other people, but you can change yourself and therefore affect their response to you.

See how we go!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Happiness Project

  1. scrappyyoga says:

    What’s the book title?

Leave a Reply

