Happiness Project – March (refuelling positivity)

As I have mentioned since I started reading the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin I have endeavoured to start my own.  This month I have already Decluttered a lot of my house and got it reasonably tidy, we have worked hard on staying on top of the laundry, I guess all that is really left is to give the kitchen a new overhaul since it’s been a while since I have done that…  And yet again I am starting to see pantry moths coming in again, I had this trouble last year and I thought I had seen the end of them, I have never had them before moving in to this house.

So I am about to embark on another month.  I have even bought a book to take along on fc8324d5ea92478d9fb295c2e9b33828the ride with me.  Something to write my ideas into and I guess to document along the way.  So the month of March for me is going to be about maintaining all the work I did in February, keeping the house in order, and adding a few things.  It’s mostly focusing on being positive.  Gretchen often mentions you can’t change other people, but their behaviour changes when yours does.  I have noticed this a lot with my husband, when I’m nicer so is he, when I am accusing he gets defensive and mopey.

So my goals are to avoid negative comments, by approaching issues from a more positive place.  No more nagging, complaining or bossing (unless necessary – he is a man who needs direction sometimes, for instance if he drops something in the kitchen that makes a big mess he just stands there and looks at it not sure what to do to fix it, I don’t even have to clean it up for him, if I offer what to clean it up with he is right).  I have decided it can’t just be the words out of my mouth that are positive because that will be too forced, I need to be thinking positively too.  I have read a few books on the power of positive psychology and one of the strategies was to the-power-of-positivitythink about 3 positive things that have happened today, and 3 things you’re grateful for.  Last night I found a 1 minute journal app that goes beyond this but gives you a prompt and somewhere to store it, my goal is not to mention the same things over and over so I can find others that may not necessarily be obvious on the surface.  I also downloaded a new todo list app that has daily, weekly, monthly and yearly to do lists, it had great reviews and so far it looks really good.  I am also using it to jot down happiness project ideas when I don’t have anything else to document things on for me to remember.

Now that the house isn’t upsetting me, I’m ready to move onto my outlook, I used to be very positive but being surrounded by negative nancy’s has tarnished my positivity.  So in light of feeling bette I want to focus less on negatives and more on positives, I want to fix my sleep pattern which has been ruined lately by overtime night shifts at work, now I can’t sleep at night and I want to sleep in for half of the day.  I’m lethargic and need to become more active, night shift has totally ruined my exercise regime, so this month as part of my positivity training I want to get back to the gym and to yoga as exercise always makes me feel energised.

Well that’s the plan, time to put it into action.  The only way to learn patience is to be put into a position where you need to display some.  Time to grasp the opportunities!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in happiness project, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

