Keep It Simple and Light!

My happiness project continues, I have been trying to lighten up this month and part of that for me has been removing unnecessary stress from my sight.  My husband and I have made a few decisions to alleviate some financial stresses, and we are trying to be as organised as we can be around the house.  That was my first months’ resolutions, to get everything organised, and we work rather well together I must say.  We work in a tag team around the house, we try to pick up each others shortfalls, and we try to pat each other on the back for helping when the other was really struggling.

I have been trying really hard not to get up tight about things I don’t need to be up tight about, I am trying to let things go and just feel more relaxed in myself.  At work I am avoiding getting caught up in things that upset me, I am avoiding the use of negative comments, and at home I am trying not to be the nag…  The catch-phrase of the moment is “no NAGative comments”.

I find it so easy to look at someone else’s circumstances and find the silver lining, but why do I find it so hard to find my own?  I am already getting quite overwhelmed with the amount of uni work I feel I should have completed given that I am already half way through the second week of the semester, I swore I would not get behind.  After over time last night, sleeping through half of today and then working on getting my new ipad and macbook organised I feel like it’s already half way through the week.  I guess that’s the problem with nursing though.

I have been approaching things from a new tactic now.  I started a happiness journal, rightfully named since that’s what I am working through.  But, it is meant to be a place for me to use as a sounding board, to lay out my thoughts, gather them in some kind of order and manage them outside of my head instead of inside.  So far it’s working, which is really surprising me because I’m not a journal kind of person.  In my quest to find ways to manage my own stress and unnecessary worry I have tried a few different things.  I have tried yoga, I had an app called the “worry box”, this was a place to put worries where they are kind of filed away I guess.  The app asks you what they are, and what you can do about them, which really puts them into perspective.  I forgot all about it and I went and had a look at them a few nights ago and I was able to delete them all because they were all short term financial issues, I guess almost more like a to do list.  I have since downloaded 1 minute journal apps, and to do apps, I keep a diary of all the things we have coming up and I like to keep a relatively strict budget so I know where we’re at, my diary also includes what I need to do for uni.  But the journal idea is also working for the moment, for all the things that are too fluffy to go into the diary, that my husband is probably sick of hearing about but that helps me to sort it even if only psychologically.

All we need is to put things into perspective, avoid clutter, whether it’s physical or emotional and clear our minds.  It’s amazing how extra pressure something as simple as background noise can put on us.

I am learning some new coping strategies from this experience, I’m feeling a little more calm, and I’m learning to put things into perspective even if I don’t always do it initially.  There’s something to be said for keeping things simple.  I’ve even bought myself a new computer and ipad after 6 years because the old ones were very slow and sometimes the button on the ipad didn’t respond, it’s such a relief to have machines now that respond when I touch them.  The first time and without having to exert any extra effort and frustration.

They might say that patience is learnt on the job, but it’s not as easy as it sounds, or instant!  Maybe it’s more like we get the opportunity to be patient when it’s needed, it’s not something you can voluntarily practice unless the timing is right.  By the time we have an opportunity we might have already failed at it.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in happiness project, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

