If You Don’t LOVE It Or USE It – Lose It

What is the value of work?  It’s a commonly recognised issue that people spend too much time on work, they work at work, then they bring it home.  Where is the balance, and where are our priorities?

As I’ve mentioned before I follow a blog called becoming minimalist, which really inspires me to let go of things, as hard as that is.  Don’t get me wrong I don’t want to go over the top, I’m not about to give up everything I own, or even more than 20%, but I do think we could all live with less baggage.  I like to live in a cosy tidy house, with minimal clutter, where everything has a purpose, and if you don’t love it or use it, get rid of it!  I recently read an article about presenting your house as you would if you were trying to sell it, permanently.  30% less clutter, so it doesn’t look like it’s cluttered, tidy with nothing that doesn’t have a place, and anything that doesn’t either needs to find a home to be re-homed (donated or sold).  This is something I struggle with especially in the kitchen department, my husband also struggles with this as we live in a small house, but we don’t see this as a permanent

I recently had somethings put into perspective.  I recently had a Tupperware party where I found myself apologising for the size of the kitchen in our house, the one part of our house lay on grassthat I thought was adequate until a friend said to me “I wouldn’t call your kitchen big”.  Now I don’t care for having something better than anyone else, but I have noticed other people’s observations sometimes change my view.  So during the Tupperware party while I was apologising for having no space the demonstrator (who used to be my manager when I was selling Tupperware), I was shocked when she mentioned she had a smaller kitchen, and lived in a small 2 bedroom house with 2 kids.  We live in a small 2 bedroom house also, and I always complain about it like we live in a cardboard box and line up at a soup kitchen for dinner.  I complain about not making enough money, I work every opportunity I get, I study to increase my wage, I don’t take any time for me and when I get some I don’t know what to do with it.

Tonight when I got home from work I was actually thinking about how much I appreciated coming home.  I believe home is a place that represents who you are, that has your creature comforts, it’s clean and tidy and a place you really want to be, that represents who you are.  Our house might be small, but it really is a place we want to be and that’s what really matters, tonight I was thinking about it and wondering why I don’t take more opportunity to enjoy it.  It got me thinking about work, about how much time I waste trying to make more money to do what?  When you don’t have the quality time, how do you enjoy the money you work so hard to save?  I have recently been thinking about where I’m at being 32 years old, and although I have come a long way (it’s a long story) what do I have to show for it?  We live in a small house, no kids, we rent, and we have a house full of stuff we buy to try and make life easier or more enjoyable.  But, what do we have really?  What money should be is experience and memories.

So what is the value of work?  What is the value of life?  We have to do what makes us happy, we have to find what interests us, take time for ourselves, for our families and friends.  Since uni has gone back this year I have lost my routine, my spare time, and sometimes my sanity.  I have a terrible sleep routine, I am tired during the day and I can’t runsleep at night.  I rarely read for fun like I did during the Christmas break, I am snappy at home, I have less patience at work and I stress and worry about everything.  Something has come to my attention, we all need some time to relax, for our mental health.  I think the perspectives have changed over time, once upon a time the focus was on family, but I feel now it’s moved to success, but success isn’t measured by what you earn and what you own.  Success can be measured based on what you have achieved, in any sense of the word.  Find what you love, find what you enjoy, work your day job and make your time count, don’t be held back by burdens.

I don’t know if this has really said what I was aiming for, as it’s getting late and I’m tired, but I think it’s time to start enjoying life, not working so hard we miss it!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

