How Busy Are We Really?

I’m too busy!  This is often my excuse for getting away with things, for missing the gym and not having meals prepared at home.  But how busy are we really?  What makes us busy and why do we busy ourselves so much we don’t have time for the basics?

Some might complain first about money.  I am the first to back this excuse.  I work overtime to make more money because of the cost of living, blah blah blah.  But, who’s choice was it to upgrade my computer, to borrow for our wedding rather than waiting, and for that personal loan that got me out of a situation quicker than I would have liked to endure?  It’s all me, I work for the conveniences I have chosen to take.  In sense I am paying for them.  And, in light of trying to get out of it, I am studying to earn more money, I am working over time and therefore leaving no time for me.

Where are our priorities?  What are our priorities?  Gone are the days of family BBQ’s at the park as an easy birthday option, or going to the beach.  Now kids have technology, parents are busycramming in extra time working from home, talking to friends and family on phones, tablets and over computers rather than making the time to see them face to face.  Families these days are buying the convenience of a take away dinner, to prevent having to spend the time in the kitchen, they then eat it while they watch tv or check facebook.  Whatever happened to sacred family time?  I am no stranger to these issues, I look at my phone at dinner, mostly because I don’t like to put people out and I like them not to have to sit around and wait for me.  I try to meal plan, but sometimes I tell my husband to have takeaway because I got an extra shift and there’s nothing left in the freezer for him to defrost and heat.  I use uni as an excuse not to get to the gym, while I waste uni time writing here, or checking out facebook or googling random things.  We are a product of our own decisions.

In light of this and my endeavour for my happiness resolution I am thinking of trying to make Mindfulness-and-Living-a-Busy-Lifea few changes around this.  I am getting incredibly stressed about things that are probably unnecessary, from cramming too much into my day.  It’s time to make some choices of our own, for ourselves.

  1. Change the statement “if I have time” to “I will make time” – if there is something you really want to do you have to make time to do it.
  2. Set a day of the week for yourself and family time, of even split that day for both.  For me sometimes that means getting a gym session in the morning, catching up with friends and then getting to pole in the evening
  3. Make a rule about technology at certain times of the day – this will eliminate phones and tablets at the dining table (and this must be a rule for everyone in the house to follow), no technology after dinner.  This is something we have tried to establish, to get me out of studying for all the hours I am at home.  However when I’m stressed it doesn’t work so well, but for the most part I try not to get to that point.  And we do permit phones after dinner, just no work, study or games if we can help it, and there are benefits to sleep for not using the devices late at night.
  4. Make a schedule you can stick to – get out a calendar, schedule activities you would love to get to and make it happen

I find that to make a real difference in ourselves what we really need is to make small changes, that are manageable.  Like with any real challenge, same as losing weight or gaining strength, you are never going to get it overnight, it’s something you have chip away at and notice the progress along the way.  But to make more time for ourselves we really need to be focused and determined, keep the diary, and plan ahead if need be.  Today I am up early despite loving to sleep in my husband got me up an extra 2hrs earlier than I would have been, so I could catch up on some washing before work, and get some work done so my odd work hours today wouldn’t get in the way of progress with my study.

You are only as busy as you allow yourself to be!

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Busy Are We Really?

  1. This is all right on point! Especially regarding FITness. It’s up there with brushing your teeth and deodorant! xo lol

  2. gjseth says:

    There is always time for the things that are important to us. Everything else is just an excuse 🙂

    • I agree, I need to learn to implement this. I have so much trouble balancing uni, work and general household organisation with leisure. At the moment I feel the only time I get this is with my blog and reading before bed for half an hour. But we all need some downtime.

  3. MilesOfRoses says:

    In the past I used to feel guilty if I wasn’t busy always doing something “productive” with my time… But now I’ve learned that is just a recipe for burnout and depression, which leaves me in a worse off position.

    • I’m starting to appreciate this way of thinking. I’m about to differ from my post grad studies for a while to finally have some time for me. It’s pulling my down too much. Funny thing is it takes us to get to that point before we realise just what it’s doing to us.

Leave a Reply

