What Do We Really Need?

While my husband and I are thinking about building a house we were facing the dilemma of how to survive financially while paying the mortgage while it was being built.  Currently we have made arrangements with a friend to move in with him, his house mate and his girlfriend, while we wait for the house to be built.  While we are very grateful for this opportunity, it will also come with it’s own inconveniences.  One of which is realising just how much you truly need to live with.

I will start with the positives as this is the path I’m trying to take at the moment.  Our price of living while being expensive will be cheaper than it would be any other way, house sharing is probably the cheapest way to live these days without move in with your parents or another family member.  We will be surrounded by friends, my husband will have company when I’m on night shift and vie versa, plus we can all share the house maintenance and meal planning.  Time for the cons…  We can’t take our pet, at this stage, which is one thing I am struggling with but I guess we’ll see how we can trouble shoot this, we will have to put the majority of our belongings into storage, and we will be sharing a bathroom with someone who has different standards to us (which is probably the easiest issue to manage).

We can reason with most of this, but we are trying very hard to determine what we really need to take.  I already have a short list of things we have discussed with the owner of the house (who will be one of the housemates we’ll be living with).  We are permitted to take our fridge, a lounge chair (as this will allow extra seating given we’ll have 5 adults in the house), my thermomix, a few kitchen things I can’t live without and whatever we can fit into our room (ie bed, tv, keyboard and sewing things).  We will be living a cosy existence in that room, but nothing we can’t manage for 3-6 months.

The real question is, what do we really need?  Moving into a house where someone already has all the things you need to exist, kitchen supplies, washing machine, furniture ClutterMinimalismetc.  How much of what we have is clutter?  I am wondering how much we can cull as an attempt to store only what we really want and only what we really need.  I was thinking about what i will need personally and it’s really only a few items I use in the kitchen for specific things we eat a lot of, plus my computer, ipad and books.  I really need books, despite ereaders.  My husband on the other hand, he is all about fishing clutter, there is so much of it most of the storage in our house goes to miniatures and fishing supplies, whereas my clutter gets stored in bookcases and the kitchen.  In the light of minimalism I wondered what we would really be willing to part with, and considering we would be moving house in around 5 months, I figure anything we haven’t used in that time is fair game to justify it’s presence.

Looking around the house now I see DVD’s that we never watch, CD’s I probably have stored on an external hard drive, wii balance boards for the wii I gave to my nephew, all things we really don’t need.  I wonder what ideas we could implement around the house in the next 5 months to eliminate what we need to pack, and what can we pack up along the way to make the process easier?

I feel a new challenge coming on, although this is something I’m always up to, I will have to convince my husband of this.  CullCLutter

  1. Each week we both need to find 7 things to get rid of (minimum)
  2. Sort through the boxes we have stored now and make the space count and throw out anything with no sentimental value that we haven’t used since moving here (we’ve lived in this house about 19 months)
  3. Box up anything we won’t be using in the next 5 months
  4. Cull clothes we no longer wear, that are worn or that no longer fit
  5. Organise any loose photos as they will probably get damaged in storage
  6. Start the exit clean up of the house prior to moving to make that process easier
  7. Don’t bring anything into the house that we don’t need, and that will just get stored – unless it’s a bargain of a lifetime and will be stored in a storage unit

Over time and as we grow up I think we start to realise our priorities have changed, we want more experience and friendships than clutter, and our clutter has more to do with things we need for hobbies for our spare time and items that make our house a home.  A lot of what we have fits into these categories, and we also like to spend money on experiences rather than things.  At the end of the day at least you have memories, but things wear out and get outdated, I try to keep everything we buy useful either to make life easier or to aid our spare time.  Plus we feel comfortable in a house with space, that feels cosy and homely.

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

