What If We Could Be Happy Today?

Why do we always think we will be happy in the future?  Why do we think all we need is a bigger house, more debt, a better paying job?  Won’t we just be ourselves with more stress and worry?  What is we could be that person right now?

I have to admit I do these things, I think we will be happier when we have a mortgage, but what if we made the most of having the extra money and less of the strain of higher living expenses.  If it wasn’t for planning for retirement sometimes I wonder if we would be better off renting and going on a decent holiday every year or every couple of years.  Since paying extra in tax in the last year it’s so easy to see how quickly it adds up.  What if we had the discipline to do that with a savings account?

I wonder if we have our hearts set on the wrong things.  I have a lot of stress in my life at the moment, being the main bread winner in our household, managing the financial side of things, and keeping our house organised.  I find I’m buying things to help me be more organised, but where does that leave me?  Feeling more stressed!  I worry about study, which I’m doing to earn more money, as much as I would like to have better skills for work, I feel it’s the clinical experience and confidence that will truly get me the position, but I do enjoy learning.  Does doing without monetary benefits give us quality in life that outweighs what we missed out?

I actually asked my husband a few days ago what he thought about having a “stay-cation”, a holiday where we stay in our own house but act like tourists.  He thought it was a good idea, we could take day trips, do all the touristy things we would do if we were visiting another city, but we would get to do all the things that are readily available here documentingthat we never do any other time.  Why visit other places when you haven’t experienced what your home has to offer?  Why spend thousands to visit a new country when you have so much to see in your own backyard?  I don’t mean you should never travel overseas because there are some amazing things to see and experience, but what I mean is you can have the experience of travelling in a less stressful environment.  Having said that, why not try doing these day trips as a monthly family outing?

I had an idea recently about planning things my husband and I could do, along the lines of a day trip, something new each month, something we can look forward to and document.  I realised we don’t really have many photos, we have “selfies” and things on our phones but we really don’t document our life in any way, and we don’t get photos printed off.  I want to start a tradition of creating a photo album for each year.  So that some day if we have children, or if we just feel nostalgic we can pull it out and go over it all.  Photos are like memories, they are something you really can’t put a value to.

As much as I struggle with getting more work/life balance, I really need to work on that.  We need to prioritise our priorities!

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in happiness project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

