We’ve Moved! Beginning Chronicles of 1 Marriage and 2 Bachelors

My husband and I have moved house now.  We have settled in relatively well I guess you could say.  We finally got the internet back on, which has been novel not to rely on using our phones as wifi hotspots when they barely have a reception as it is.  The move has not gone without its hiccups, we almost didn’t fit some of the furniture into the house, we filled the storage space we were given, but it’s all in and we are all co-existing just fine.

I finally have a few days off in a row and I decided to do something for me.  I’ve been so tired moving and working, after just having had a chest infection that seems to have taken me at least two weeks to get over I thought it was time to do something I haven’t had the chance to do in months.  So today I am burning a candle, I finished the edge of a crochet rug I have been working on for over a year now, (I haven’t touched it since last winter), and this afternoon I am heading for a run, we’re having homemade pie for dinner tonight and I am hoping in the next few days to finish off a cot quilt I started months ago.  As much as that sounds all very busy, they are all things I like to do, things that I find beneficial for my mental health and it gets me away from a screen.  Who knows there might even be time later on if I wanted to read a book, after my 13hr sleep last night I feel full of energy for a change, not dragging myself through the motions.

Our existence in the house is far from perfect, although it has been good with everyone pitching in for meals, I have definitely cooked less than I usually would, but the house isn’t as clean and tidy as I would like it.  Living with my husband and two bachelors, we have some work cut out for us.  My husband and I like to live in a cosy, warm and tidy environment, but since I have been working and unpacking for the last two weeks I haven’t had the opportunity to get some things done, my husband has been great however, staying on top of the washing that was piling up (we only wash for ourselves), and staying on top of the bathroom and the dishes.  I need to find the time for a full house clean up.

Most of all I am looking forward to getting creative again, I have a baby shower coming up for twins and I want to make some patchwork quilts for them.  I would have liked to crochet a rug each but I just don’t have the time with only 2 weeks up my sleeve I don’t think even I could manage to pull that off.  Keeping in mind the uni semester recommences soon and I have to decide if I’m going to continue or differ for 6 months.  I have plans to catch up with my piano keyboard, sewing machine and curl up with some books, that’s all I”ve been dreaming about since the semester finished.  I will post an update with my progress with the quilt and home cooked pie tonight if I remember.

I wasn’t sure how I would cope in a house of boys, I have never lived in a share house and so far I must say things aren’t going too badly.  The only real issue at this stage is the hot water system, as it isn’t keeping up with demand, something we are working on fixing.  In the meantime, I have been planning things with the gym to shower there, and friends have offered when we have been stuck, as it’s winter here I really can’t do a cool shower, maybe summer would be ok.  We all have different routines which means we aren’t all in each others hair all the time, my husband and I are shift workers so that always changes, hte other guys – one works Monday – Friday day work, and the other only works a few nights a week but stays up quite late and sleeps through the day.  Meaning we try to be quiet down that end of the house, but also a good reason to go out for the day.  For the most part I think we all pitch in together, we do the things we can see need to be done, and above all we all get along which I think is just as important.  The house would make an interesting tv show I think, not that I condone reality tv!

 

About myhousewifelifeblog

I am a nurse by trade, and a traditional "de facto" housewife by nature. Constantly seeking a more organised existence. I like to cook, sew and play my keyboard. I try to keep my house organised but I've not yet mastered this, and I am endeavouring to reach my image of ultimate organisation at home. I'm not sure if it's possible, but I'll give it a go.
This entry was posted in 1 Marriage and 2 Bachelors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

